Deleting special characters

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm an absolubt beginner with databases ad need some help removing a special characters.

I have a field that contains numbers only in some cells and both numbers and letters in others. In order to be able to inport to my DB I had to add a ' at the beginning and end of each record so that both excell & access would pick up the dta as text. I now need to remove the ' characters but cannot figure out how it's done.

I know I need to use an update query from reading other threads here but nothing I have read has given me an answer I can understand or impliment.

please help.

P.S.

I have no knowledge on using SQL so any help needs to be in very simple access term :)

Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Are you trying to remove the characters in Access? Or in Excel?

Reaction score
Thank you for he reply and sorry I was not clear,

I'm trying to remove it from access. I had to add it in excel to allow me up import the data to acess. here's an example of the data.

Field: Unique Ref
1st record '123456789123'
2nd record '123456798L1234567'

because some of the ref numbers dont have letters Excel/Access picked them up as numbers and would not allow to import to a text field.

Adding the sp characters allowed me to import them but now I want rid of them.

Thanks again

Reaction score
Does every record have an apostrophe at the beginning and end of the data that you want to remove?

Reaction score
And my final question before I present you with an attempted answer is which version of Access are you working in?

Reaction score