Buried Treasure In Burma: Squadron Of Lost WWII Spitfires To Be Exhumed

Reaction score
attachment.php

Like a treasure chest stuffed with priceless booty, as many as 20 World War II-era Spitfire planes are perfectly preserved, buried in crates beneath Burma -- and after 67 years underground, they're set to be uncovered.

The planes were shipped in standard fashion in 1945 from their manufacturer in England to the Far East country: waxed, wrapped in greased paper and tarred to protect against the elements. They were then buried in the crates they were shipped in, rather than let them fall into enemy hands, said David Cundall, an aviation enthusiast who has spent 15 years and about $200,000 in his efforts to reveal the lost planes.

The 62-year-old man -- a British farmer by trade -- realized the fate of the aircraft thanks to an offhand comment a group of American veterans made to a friend, he told the Sydney Morning Herald.
Read the whole story at Foxnews.com

Attachments

• Spitfire.jpg
    Spitfire.jpg
    20.8 KB · Views: 2,318

Taffycat

Crunchy Cat
Reaction score
Great story Zema, it's wonderful to think those buried Spitfires might be able to be flown again.

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Reaction score
Yeah, they will be used on our next generation of aircraft carriers as we have nothing else to fly from them. :D

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
I'd love it if they could get a few flightworthy aircraft from this - what a haul that would be! :D

crazylegs

Member Extraordinaire
Reaction score
Fantastic news, but will we ever get any of them back to blighty!

Reaction score
I read this story some time ago. The story said that the British governament is going to buy them up,do them up and use them on the new aircraft carrier that is being built,save buying exspensive American war planes......could be true who knows/
historian

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score