Access Access 97 How do I get a value of 4 to appear as 0004

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to access, reckon I'm at about novice level, but I'm trying to get an example Job Database together for my work. As I'm doing this of my own back you can imagine I have little or no resources.

What I m trying to do is get a sequencial numering system based on job types, mechanical & eletrical, as follows using a form.

ME0001, EL0001, EL0002, EL003, ME002

So essentially inputting mechanical & electrical jobs whilst maintaing sequencial numering for each job type.

I have a partial success of the database doing the following

ME1, EL1, EL2, EL3, ME2 - but as you can see the 000's are missing.

I'm really struggling with this having tried setting input masks and Format types without little success, mainly due to my lack of experience.

Any assistance would be grateful

Thanks

Steve Ferry.

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
do you have an imput mask ? and what format type are you using at the moment ?

Reaction score
Steve Ferry said:
I'm relatively new to access, reckon I'm at about novice level, but I'm trying to get an example Job Database together for my work. As I'm doing this of my own back you can imagine I have little or no resources.

What I m trying to do is get a sequencial numering system based on job types, mechanical & eletrical, as follows using a form.

ME0001, EL0001, EL0002, EL003, ME002

So essentially inputting mechanical & electrical jobs whilst maintaing sequencial numering for each job type.

I have a partial success of the database doing the following

ME1, EL1, EL2, EL3, ME2 - but as you can see the 000's are missing.

I'm really struggling with this having tried setting input masks and Format types without little success, mainly due to my lack of experience.

Any assistance would be grateful

Thanks

Steve Ferry.

Dear Steve

If I understand it well the numbers must raise automatically for every unique character code.