VB.Net XML request using a URL

G

I am fairly new to VB. net, and totally new to XML. I am using VS .net 2003, VB .Net. I need to, through the use of a URL, (to other systems), send a request and get a response. I see a lot of examples on using xml in vb .net, (all dealing with creating and reading xml files, but nothing specific, (sending the requests), and, up to date on the technology that I am using. I do not need an xml overwiew, just the code to handle the request

I am not asking anyone to write my complete program for me, but please include all declarations, import statements, etc., that are needed

Also, I cannot find a book that is specific to VB. NET, and XML, that is current

Thank

Lou

C

Cor

Hi Lou,

The most XML in VB.net is behind the scene.

A dataset by instance is XML but you do not see it until you write it using
a ds.writeXML to disk or brings it using a xs.GetXML to a string.

However, XML is an approach of describing data, which can be used in very
much different ways.

By instance there are also XML documents (which are no documents, but data
which can provided to documents) a total other approach of using the
benefits of the standarizing of XML.

As an advice: do not focus on XML, but on what you want to do, than you will
see the samples soon enough where XML is used.

Just my 2 eurocents,

Cor

G

Co

I must have worded my request wrong. I am looking for a specific example of using a URL to get data across servers
(I think that it is by using 'microsoft.xmlhttp, post,send. etc.', but I am not sure.

As you have said there are a lot of VB XML examples out there, but none for this particular action

Thank

Lou

G

Co

The links that you provided are related to web servers. I am not sure that that is where I want to go, as I do not want to create/use/modify a web server. But then again, I could be wrong

This is what I have found and tested, and it works..
--------------------------------
Dim XmlHtt
Dim URL = "http://etc, etc...