uploads from forms...

G

hi, I'm a newbie designing a website. I set up one form with an "upload field" where customers are supposed to send files to us (documents such as .txt, .doc, .pdf, etc). But, here's the problem: my hosting account support say they don't allow outside acces to their servers. As far as I know, with FP you create a folder for the uploads, which resides in the hosting server. Is there a way to solve this? Perhaps have the customer's files sent to an email address or whatever you consider appropriate for this situation

Thanks very much for your help

alfredo

S

Stefan B Rusynko

The host servers needs the FP2002 SE w/ file upload enabled per
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;299763&Product=fp2002

--

| hi, I'm a newbie designing a website. I set up one form with an "upload field" where customers are supposed to send files to us
(documents such as .txt, .doc, .pdf, etc). But, here's the problem: my hosting account support say they don't allow outside acces to
their servers. As far as I know, with FP you create a folder for the uploads, which resides in the hosting server. Is there a way to
solve this? Perhaps have the customer's files sent to an email address or whatever you consider appropriate for this situation?
|
| Thanks very much for your help.
|
| alfredo

A

Andrew Murray

Your host must mean they don't allow users to upload files to the server
(obviously they can browse your site and that is technically "outside access to
their server".....if they didn't allow 'outside access' then you wouldn't have a
site at all, since most viewers would not be members of that particular host.

Can you verify what exactly they mean "outside access" ?

Regarding the Frontpage Upload field - this feature may not be enabled by your
host by default; they have the choice what to allow and what not to in respect of
the server extension functionality.

The host has to allow the upload element to be enabled. They may consider