Update Query to Linked Table in Access

Discussion in 'Webmaster / Programming' started by AJCButler, Sep 16, 2007.

  1. AJCButler

    AJCButler

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have come across a problem that I have not come across in Access before.
    I am trying to create an update query which updates a null field to 1 in a linked table.
    I keep getting the message:

    'Updating data in a linked table is not supported by this ISAM'.

    How can I get around this problem?

    Regards
    AJ
     
    AJCButler, Sep 16, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. AJCButler

    TriplexDread VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Where ever I want to be
    Not sure what your asking mate. Link table in what?

    I'm sure someone will know what you mean tho!

    Summat to do with Excel is it?

    Ahh read it again MS Access? DOH ;)



    Bare with me i'll try get u some help asap
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2007
    TriplexDread, Sep 17, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. AJCButler

    TriplexDread VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Where ever I want to be
    Try this from a good friend of mine....

    Ok linked tables are, (I presume), external tables on another DB linked into the current access db. I can understand why it has problems but there is another way of doing this instead of linking the table you can ... hold on let me see

    ...................................


    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/chs/default.asp?url=/library/CHS/dntaloc/html/office10052000.asp

    This article helps a little but you need more information on what he is linking too?

     
    TriplexDread, Sep 17, 2007
    #3
  4. AJCButler

    AJCButler

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help.
    I was trying to append from an Access table into an excel table, which I gave up on.
    I have found a way around this though.
    I have deleted the file and made the database create a new one.

    This worked.

    Cheers anyway!
     
    AJCButler, Sep 20, 2007
    #4
  5. AJCButler

    TriplexDread VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Where ever I want to be
    Ok well least you got it sorted ;)
     
    TriplexDread, Sep 23, 2007
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. masterkeedu

    Access Query Duplicates

    masterkeedu, Jun 13, 2005, in forum: Webmaster / Programming
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    4,629
    masterkeedu
    Jun 15, 2005
  2. twstech

    Access Query HELP...

    twstech, Jul 7, 2005, in forum: Webmaster / Programming
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    812
    masterkeedu
    Jul 13, 2005
  3. clowbeck

    Help! Access Query Range???

    clowbeck, Jul 12, 2005, in forum: Webmaster / Programming
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    967
    masterkeedu
    Jul 13, 2005
  4. Starbuck

    Add recordset data to local linked table.

    Starbuck, Jul 12, 2012, in forum: Webmaster / Programming
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,142
    LouisWatson
    Aug 27, 2012
  5. socom36252

    Access Vba Table copy question

    socom36252, Jul 22, 2013, in forum: Webmaster / Programming
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,424
    socom36252
    Jul 22, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page