Reading dump files

Silverhazesurfer

Master of Logic
Reaction score
Anyone have a simple method for doing this? Thus far, it seems as if I can only find information that requires data I might not possibly have. I have installed the debugger tool from the Windows SDK, but I am far from a programmer.

Silverhazesurfer

Master of Logic
Reaction score

Silverhazesurfer

Master of Logic
Reaction score
I should update this post a little bit to allow for an easier way to understand what we are trying to accomplish here. I have referenced it from time to time and believe that it may be a little confusing as to what to do in order to figure out what is wrong.

Nirsoft makes a neat little program that allows you to easily open dump files that are created when your system crashes. The link is near the bottom of the page linked in the previous post.
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html

The download is a zip file that you will need to extract. XP has a built in extractor for zip files, so it is as easy as right clicking and choosing extract. I extract all the files to the desktop so they are automatically in a neat folder and can be moved anywhere. I move this folder to my Start Menu Programs list so it is out of the way and easy to get to.

The awesome thing about this little tool is that it automatically opens up the C:\Windows\Minidump folder where dump files are, by default, stored. Once the software is open, choose the dump file that relates to your crash. This is typically indicated by the date listed under the Crash Time colum. Select that file and look in the lower pane. The files highlighted in red are the offending files.