Windows XP .RAR files question

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score
I want to take a load of files away with me at christmas and transfer them to another pc . One set of files is 5.8Gb , can I compress them with WIN RAR or WIN ZIP and will they then be of a smaller size so that I can fit them on to a single dvd . I've got about 30GB of files in total so the smaller I can make them the better .
I've only ever used Win Rar or Win Zip to extract files so I'm a complete newbie to this . :blush:

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score
Thanks for that . I tried to compress a file once but it ended up the same size as the original . If you use TugZip or WinRar then the file should be smaller than the original shouldn't it ????? :confused:

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
it all depends on the type of file you are compressing, give KGB Archiver a go it's supposed to be better than everything else but needs a powerful computer to run it

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score
They are mainly .avi files . Thought all these zippy progs were suposed to squash down to 10% of the original ???????? Any on-line guides I can read up ??

thanks guys .

:confused:

Reaction score
winrar wont make a difference mate really, well nothing significant.

You will need a professional achiving program if you want really high compression.

Remember the higher the compression the more volatile the archive. It may well be corrupted if you try too high

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Or just use one dual layer DVD for the 5.8Gb file and six or seven regular DVD's for the rest.

Wassup wid dat? :eek:

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score
floppybootstomp said:
Or just use one dual layer DVD for the 5.8Gb file and six or seven regular DVD's for the rest.

Wassup wid dat? :eek:

Cost. I'm a tight tyke
laughingsmiley.gif
have you seen the price of dual layer dvd's
laughingsmiley.gif

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score
TriplexDread said: