newbie problem with layout tables

G

Hi--i'm just learning FP 2003--bravely working my way through 3 books and still running into walls every step of the way. Right now I'm learning layout tables which appears to be easy enough until I try to insert a border or a picture into a cell. I right click in the cell and choose cell properties which opens the dialog box but a whole bunch of stuff in the box is faded out and can't be used--nothing under the Borders section is available (light border, dark border, etc) and "use background picture" in the BAckground section is also not available. (However, I am able to change the color in the background section). I've gone through this procedure about 80 million times in as many different layout tables and it always looks the same. What am I doing wrong?

Ginny

J

Jens Peter Karlsen[FP-MVP]

It sounds like you choose Cell Formatting instead of Cell Properties
which is what you should select.
Otherwise, Select Tools | Page Options and on the Authoring tab make
sure Browsers are set as Custom and that Schema Version is set to
Internet Explorer 5.0.

Regards Jens Peter Karlsen. Microsoft MVP - Frontpage.

-----Original Message-----
Posted At: 04. august 2004 02:13
Posted To: microsoft.public.frontpage.client
Conversation: newbie problem with layout tables
Subject: newbie problem with layout tables

Hi--i'm just learning FP 2003--bravely working my way through 3 books
and still running into walls every step of the way. Right now I'm
learning layout tables which appears to be easy enough until I try to
insert a border or a picture into a cell. I right click in the cell and
choose cell properties which opens the dialog box but a whole bunch of
stuff in the box is faded out and can't be used--nothing under the
Borders section is available (light border, dark border, etc) and "use
background picture" in the BAckground section is also not available.
(However, I am able to change the color in the background section). I've