New PC Advice

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I am a computer novice so this post will be probably less technical than you are used to reading. I have been looking at different pc packages but do not know if they are good deals or not and its doing my head in!
Ok here we go, I am looking to replace my existing (busted) pc, all i need is a hard drive to surf the web, a good amount of RAM (for downloading), a fairly quick processor for gaming and windows xp or vista.
Can anybody please tell me what i should be looking for eg minimum processor speed etc, and what to stay well clear of.
Thanks life savers:bow:

Bingo

Reaction score
I know you say your a novice but we here at PCR believe it to be better in the long run to maybe consider building your own

That way you can pick and choose exactly what componants you want in it and it is easier to upgrade at our own leasure.

Have you thought about that maybe?

Oh yeah Welcome to PCR btw

Reaction score
Hey, Welcome to the forum
happywave.gif

OcUK usually have some good offers on. But as TriplexDread as said, you may want to consider building your own, it's much more fun, you can learn new things and get some good experience, and customize it to your hearts content. :D

And if anytime you get stuck, were always here to help :)

Reaction score
PC World are still doing some good offers?
Not everyone's best shop but if your after a bargain it may be the place to go?

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
feckit said:
PC World are still doing some good offers?
Not everyone's best shop but if your after a bargain it may be the place to go?

:eek: Heresy! :eek:

Novatech; OCUK; Chillblast are the three I'd recommend for off the shelf jobbies.

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Waynos_Face said:
Although you willl pay about £75 too much if you get it from OCUK.

Compared to what?