New computer build

Reaction score
Hi all as you may see i am a newbie to this site.
I am in the process compiling new parts for my build.
Will be taking out parts from my other comp,
CPU, Skylake i7
Memory--- 16gig ddr3
Plus various h/d's and optical drives.
My new build
Cooler Master HAF XB Evo Computer Case "RC–902XB–KKN2
Thermaltake Smart SE 630W 80+ Bronze
GIGABYTE Z270 Gaming K3 1151 7th Gen DDR4 CrossFireX ATX Motherboard
SilverStone SST-PP07-BTSR - 30cm Molex
CableDeconn High Speed 6Gbps 4pcs/set Sata Sas Cable High Quality for Server 1M
Thermaltake CL-P021-CA12BU-A Ring Silent 12 Pro CPU Cooler and Fan
SilverStone SST-SA022 - Dual Internal Mini SAS 26pin SFF8087 to External 36pin SFF8088 PCI-E Panel in PCI-E Card Bracket.

The question is would all these parts be compatible.
I have changed the font colour as to the ones i am not sure about.
Your help would be most welcome.
SteveR

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Hey Steve, welcome to the forums :).

That's a nice system you're building there. Just a few questions... so I can make sure the answer has some value.
  • Which graphics card are you using in your new system? (as this may alter the PSU choice)
  • What type/how many HDDs/Optical drives do you have (again, PSU choice)
  • Do you have external SAS drives (just checking, as it's unusual to have these).
The new motherboard will work with your existing 6th Gen CPU, however you've got DDR3 RAM and the new motherboard requires DDR4. The cooler works with that socket (LGA1151), so that's ok.

We'd need to know a little more about the drives to help with the external SAS headers you've chosen, as well as the power cables. The PSU will likely have plenty of drive power connectors, so if you're buying an additional one, you must have a lot of drives (which may require a beefier CPU, depending on type). Are external drives something you're after?

Reaction score
Hi it was kind of you to give me a quick reply.