i cant set affinities

chelseafc2005

Crunchtastic
Reaction score
i got an amd 64 x2 3800+ processor about a month ago and i rread that i can set it so that i can set which programs run on which core of the processor by setting the affinities, i searched how to do this but it wont let me do what i have been told. What shoudl i do??

thanks in advance

chelseafc2005

Crunchtastic
Reaction score
yes but i did not seem to have any replies and i didnt think that the thread was really asking the question

CITech

Offshore Crunchie Eater
Reaction score
chelseafc2005 said:
i searched how to do this but it wont let me do what i have been told. What shoudl i do??
What instructions have you got Chelsea? I've got affinity running on the spec below and its easy, but I wonder which method you are trying to use.

Let us know what you got and we can have a look.

chelseafc2005

Crunchtastic
Reaction score
ok what i have been told is that my bios is up to date
im new to this whole dual core thing so i am sorta clueless
but what i have been told is that what i do is open task manager right click the program and there should be a set affinity button (which ther is not when i do that)

my spec is
amd 64 x2 3800+
512 mb ram
asus a8v mb
80gb hd
40gb hd
xp pro

CITech

Offshore Crunchie Eater
Reaction score
OK Chelsea

I think you are on the right track, but you need to look at the Processes tab of the Task Manager, not the Applications.

Find the process you want, then right-click, and at the bottom of the list you should see an option to Set Affinity.

Have a look and let me know.

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
IIRC you only had one core showing up in task manager, if that has been fixed and both cores are showing then do what CITech said and it should work

chelseafc2005

Crunchtastic
Reaction score
it doesnt show both cores in task manager how can i fix that??is there something wrong with the chip??

Last edited:

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score