HGV/LGV or PCV Licence

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Has anyone got HGV/LGV or PCV?
If so do you understand the new Driver CPC & Training?

Reaction score
It's currently an EC directive and no training is in place yet.
But you can be sure it will cost plenty of ££££
It will effect all within C1, C, C+E & Buses + anyone who has a licence after 1997 who wants to drive over 3.5 tons!
And feckit your driving history on big things will be a secret between Me & Murdoch unless we get offered ££££:D

Reaction score
Im an HGV/LGV driver and we were told that it starts from 2009, for existing drivers.
Many are worried as some drivers have no formal secondary school qualifications and think this CPC exam will be to complicated for them.

It is, i believe already being implemented in France and Holland, and they think its reduced the amount of accidents/problems.

Having to renew both the HGV and CPC every 5 years is going to be tough, then theres the cost and how or who is going to pay.

Many may give up ,as its not really well paid to begin with, and having to do a cpc if your only a casual or part time driver may be the final straw.

Reaction score
DVLA told me i have upto 2011 to do the 35 hours CPC training.
But as Exmoor mentioned it's not going to be up running in the UK till 2009.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Some drivers who have held their licence before 1997 will get "Grandfather" right's and not have to take the CPC until 2011. But as the CPC can be taken in modules over 2 years it is probably safer and prudent to do it his way in case you fail a module.

Of course hopefully this will mean that some of those left handers from Europe will be trained to the same standard as the rest of us and will not cause so many accidents on the M25 etc!

Reaction score
My current License is not up for renewal untill 2012, and i hope i dont have to think about it till around that time hopefully.