Help me complete my ambition

Reaction score
Hi, i am new to the forum and stuff on here, and have spent a few hours looking through all the posts, and i must say it seems friendly and full of advice. Basically this is going to sound a bit cheeky, but i am wanting to build a pc, a 'decent' one if i can, with a budget of about 500 pounds.

A few things to remember when giving me advice, if you do that is.

I am not very good at the inside of a case, and the workings, i know very little.
I want to make this my profession, as i am a young A-level student studying I.T and Business
(ALL THE PARTS I HAVE LISTED ARE OF OF EBUYER.CO.UK, THE QUICKFIND CODE IS IN BRACKETS
)

Ok, i will start by telling you what i have found with advice from people, i will start with the processor and motherboard, i want to stick with a Pentium 4 processor, preferably a 3.2GHZ, and a gigabyte motherboard,

Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz (Prescott) Socket 478 FSB800 1MB Cache Retail Boxed CPU (58515) around 150pounds

Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000g S478 I865PE ATX Sound GIG LAN USB 2.0 FSB800 SATA100 Retail Box (62518) around 55 pounds

Hopefully, if i explain what i want if someone would kindly look at the motherboard, they can tell me if it is ok, i want that processor to fit, also i would ideally like a dvd-rom drive, then a re-writer drive, along with a hard drive, and a media/floppy media drive bay, i have no idea what connections these use, which is why i would like the advice, the re-write drive i was looking at is:

LG GSA-4167BAL 16x DVD±RW Dual Layer Internal IDE (Black) - OEM (97237) around 33 pounds

The hard drive i was looking at is:

Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB UIDE 100 7200rpm 8mb Cache- OEM (47656) around 73 pounds

Then i come onto the ram subject, i would ideally like 1gb, this is listed below, and ideally like to know how many slots there are in plain terms that i can understand:

Kingston 1GB DDR PC3200 400MHz Non-ECC CL3 (3-3-3) 184pin DIMM's (Kit of 2 x 512mb) (49296) around 70 pounds