Graphic cards help!

Reaction score
Hi, I'm John and a complete newbie here, I currently have a Geforce MX440 in my PC at home and was thinking of upgrading to a Radeon 9800 Pro (I love the Thief series of games but the MX440 chipset isn't supported on the latest Thief game), so I have a couple of questions:

1 - Is the 9800 Pro a good enough card - i.e. is it going to last me a while?

2- How easy is it to actually upgrade - is it just a matter of taking one out, inserting the new one, booting up and running the drivers?

Thanks for any help/advice you guys/girls can give me.

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
It is a good card.

It will run the Thief series OK.

It's already outdated but will run all games currently available.

Download latest Radeon Drivers (Catalyst V4.9 atm I believe). Unzip to a folder if required. (Either from ATI's site or www.guru3d.com)

First, uninstall all Nvidia drivers, including any folders left in Program Files and if you can be bothered, any registry entries left over.

Shut your computer down, remove mains plug.

Swap out Nvidia card for 9800Pro. Start up computer again.

Ignore prompts to install new hardware.

Browse to folder where Catalyst drivers are and install. Reboot twice.

Adjust resolution and refresh rate.

Done.

Reaction score
hello JayeL welcome to heaven:)

The Radeon 9800 is on everyones lips at the minute. the next grahpics card i get will be this very one.
looks to be a very good graphics card.

u probably already know but check out www.kelkoo.com to compare online PRICES.

good luck.

Reefsmoka

Cookie Monster
Reaction score