Backup ???

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Abarbarian, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. Abarbarian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,555
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    I have two drives, one with the os and used for all pc'ing. One for backup only.

    Is the Windows 7 backup easy to set up and use ?

    Can I use it to make a full backup that can be used to install everything to a new disk if the original fails, ie like a clone. ???

    Ta. :)
     
    Abarbarian, Sep 24, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Abarbarian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,555
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    Bump !!

    Anyone got any real time use of 7's backup? :)
     
    Abarbarian, Oct 8, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Abarbarian

    Silverhazesurfer Master of Logic VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=15155

    Check that out. Microsoft SyncToy. I use it to do my corporate backups on the regular. echo any folder you want to another drive or location. you can have it echo from multiple and dump to one folder or drive root.

    I like it as it is simple to use.

    Drive cloning, use CloneZilla. Copies block for block and makes an exact bootable copy.

    http://clonezilla.org/
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
    Silverhazesurfer, Oct 8, 2011
    #3
  4. Abarbarian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,555
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    Thanks I am a long term user of Karens Replicator and Clone Zilla both excellent programs.
    Was looking for input about 7's backup for use by someone not as geeky as me. :D
     
    Abarbarian, Oct 8, 2011
    #4
  5. Abarbarian

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    18,507
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Greenwich
    Dunno, I use Acronis True Image V11 and I recently backed up all four Windows OS's from my 4 machines (Win 98; XP; Vista & 7) plus a couple of Linux installs from the machine with the swap out disk caddies.

    All to an external 500Gb SATA disk in a dock.

    It's always worked fine for me and I picked up the Acronis software FOC from some offer or other so I'm a happy bunny.

    Last restore I done was when I mistakenly installed a Linux distro over my Win XP :eek: forgot to swap out the disk caddy before install, doh :blush:
     
    floppybootstomp, Oct 8, 2011
    #5
  6. Abarbarian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,555
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river

    :lol::lol::lol:[​IMG][​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Abarbarian, Oct 8, 2011
    #6
  7. Abarbarian

    Terry James

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    4
    I tried today, for the first time to recover some EX files after Win 7 stoped responding.
    Hopless, may be I don't understand how to use Win 7 built in backup & restore?
    I searched via the restore wizard and could not find any of my files, so will not rely on it again.
    Terry
     
    Terry James, Nov 4, 2011
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. feckit

    BackUp of Windows 7

    feckit, Jul 23, 2010, in forum: Windows 7
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    937
Loading...

Share This Page