A Win2003 ?

G

George Hester

I tried to set up Windows 2003 Server. The way my Windows 2000 is set up is like this. Windows 2000 is on the Master drive on the same cable as my CD-ROM. The CD-ROM is slave. This is on the secondary IDE cable. On the primary IDE cable I have a master drive and a slave drive. The master drive has a small FAT12 bootable partion. It is 7 MB. This partition is what I use to boot my operating systems for they are NOT on the Master drive on the Primary IDE cable.

When I tried to install Windows 2003 it could not see this small partition on the Master drive on the Primary IDE cable. So it looks to me Windows 2003 needs a larger boot partition on the Master drive on the Primary IDE cable so I can install this operating system. Windows 2000 actually only needs room for 3 files:

boot.ini
NTDETECT.COM
ntldr

which use about 300KB.

So my question is what is the minimum size I can make this boot partition on the Master drive on the Primary IDE cable so that I can install Windows 2003 on the Master drive of the secondary IDE cable? Thanks.

R

Ricardo M. Urbano - W2K/NT4 MVP

Damn good question, George! I assumed W2K3 would work the same way as
all the other preceding NTx OS's. I'd love to know the answer if you
get it.

I have a copy of W2K3 here, but haven't had a chance to install it yet.

M

Mark V

George Hester wrote in
I tried to set up Windows 2003 Server. The way my Windows 2000 is
set up is like this. Windows 2000 is on the Master drive on the
same cable as my CD-ROM. The CD-ROM is slave. This is on the
secondary IDE cable. On the primary IDE cable I have a master
drive and a slave drive. The master drive has a small FAT12
bootable partion. It is 7 MB. This partition is what I use to
boot my operating systems for they are NOT on the Master drive on
the Primary IDE cable.

When I tried to install Windows 2003 it could not see this small
partition on the Master drive on the Primary IDE cable. So it