print spooler service not running.


Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Hello, newbie here, thanks for accepting.
Prob: - unable to add printer as print spooler service not running. I have followed instructions re activating print spooler on an earlier thread, re-loaded software aand drivers but still the same result. Any help please ?
I need to print out paths to some files on back up drive,before re-formatting /reinstalling win XP then win 7.
Running Win XpPRO -SP3 (86)only at present and will be reformatting, re-installing XPpro SP3 and win 7 Pro 64 bit
AV software:Avira AV Personal- free
ZA Firewall.
Malware protection/scanners:SuperAntiSpyware, SpywareBlaster, MalwareBYtes, spypot S&D and Hosts file
Connection via BT Home hub edition 1 to DSL broadband approx 8mbps download 484 mbps upload
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6T DELUXE V2 Rev 1.xx
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 0302 02/26/2009
Processor
3.33 gigahertz (NOT overclocked) Intel Core i7 975
32 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
8192 kilobyte tertiary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (4 total)
Hyper-threaded (8 total)
2040 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
RAM
Slot 'DIMM0' has 2048 MB (serial number SerNum00)
Slot 'DIMM1' has 2048 MB (serial number SerNum01)
Slot 'DIMM2' has 2048 MB (serial number SerNum02)
Slot 'DIMM3' has 2048 MB (serial number SerNum03)
Slot 'DIMM4' has 2048 MB (serial number SerNum04)
Slot 'DIMM5' has 2048 MB (serial number SerNum05
HD's
1741.75 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
1601.28 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space EXtternal HD for back-ups.
Bus adaptors
Marvell 61xx RAID Controller
Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Enhanced Host Controller - 3A3A
Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Enhanced Host Controller - 3A3C
Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A34
Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A35
Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A36
Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A37
Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A38
Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A39
other devices
VIA OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
HID-compliant device (3x)
USB Human Interface Device (2x)
Wacom Virtual Hid Driver
Live! Cam Optia Pro (VF0380)
Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
HID-compliant mouse (2x)
Saitek GM3200 Gaming Mouse (HID)
Generic USB Hub (2x)
USB Composite Device
USB Mass Storage Device (2x)
USB Root Hub (8x)
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,565
Reaction score
1,882
Welcome,

Firstly, Its a crime to be running XP 32 bit on that PC! :)

Is it running according to the Services? Have you tried starting it from there?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
V_R said:
Welcome,

Firstly, Its a crime to be running XP 32 bit on that PC! :)

Is it running according to the Services? Have you tried starting it from there?[/QUOTE]

Its fine with Win7 (64 bit), V_R

Sorry, don't understand your question. Bolded, above.
Think I know what you mean, Yes the application shows as started in Services and is set to automatic
Trying to install a printer though, still says "Print spooler service not running"
GDEAS
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Help trying to install a print spooler service, it keeps on saying spooler service not running
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
fist of all u open service.msc from command prompt then u sellect sprint spoolar service then u sellect automatic then start your problem solve
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
In the end , as I needed to instal the 64 bit Win 7, I Re-formatted from scratch and set up just the partitions I needed.
After re-installing software for printer and getting latest drivers, all seems well and no further probs with spooler starting.

Thank you all for your time and input.


I can think of this matter as closed now
:cheers:
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top