Need advice on hard drive and graphics card.

Reaction score
I own this part of the system already:-

AMD XP 3200 Barton 400FSB cpu
DFI Lanparty NF2 Ultra Motherboard
512 MB DDR SDRAM PC3200 400 Mhz MEMORY
Sony DVD writer
case

What i need help with is picking hardrive and grpahics card. Money is a facter as i'm a student! Graphics card i'm looking at is 256Mb Radeon 9600 XT DDR DVI-I TV Out, which i have found for £135, and SATA 160Gb Diamond Max Hard Disk Drive OEM for £90.

Are these going to be good, or can i do better in the same budget? Is SATA the way to go? Oh yea and what is ATA RAID 133 for? I have two slots on motherboard for that as well!

Shop been looking at is www.watford.co.uk

Can you recommend a fan as well? Around 20-30 quid!

Thanks for your help!

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
You seem to have chosen some good choices - and some not bad prices. SATA is probably worth it if your motherboard can support it, as it will be used alot more in the future. Check out our latest hard drive review (https://www.pcreview.co.uk/article-4021.php) as it will explain it a little more.

The ATI 9600 will play games very well, and it has some excellent features. If you are looking for something a bit cheaper, I would recommend the GeForce 5200 series - but the 9600 is a very good card.

Some other retailers worth looking at are:

http://www.dabs.com
http://www.microland.co.uk
http://www.komplett.co.uk
http://www.uc-solutions.co.uk

There is a whole list here : https://www.pcreview.co.uk/retailerratings.php

Reaction score
dont touch the 5200 ;)...

comparing it to a 9600XT is a bad idea
3dmark2001se
Fx 5200=5000-6000 MAX
9600XT=10000-15000 MAX

big difference there, the 9600XT is a gr8 buy and comes with HL2 which would retail for about £39.99, so that cash is took off the card price for a start.