Any Linux Users Here?

Reaction score
And if so what Distro do you like?

I like Knoppix and a lot of the one based on it, but still not found a version of Linux that installs on my PC and works as easily as windows.

Quadophile

Hon. Acoustical Engineer
Reaction score
Use Red Hat 9 and works fine since I first installed in my second rig few weeks back. I am new to Linux but trying to get the hang of it.

Reaction score
I have an old pentium 233 box with Red Hat 9 on it. Thing runs far better than any winblows system that was previously on it. Still learning the ropes though. I had it set up as a web server for a bit till I had to reset my router settings... now I've been having troubles getting it back online. I still have network and internet access mind you, I've just been having troubles getting the domain name to resolve to the server. This much to be learned still, I want to set up ftp access to it and I want to be able to set up user accounts so I can connect to it from my other windows boxes that are hooked up to the network which has been rather confusing. I have a huge Redhat book but its rather cryptic to a new linux user. Anywho, thats where I'm at with linux.

Quadophile

Hon. Acoustical Engineer
Reaction score
Linux does not like Windoze modems and all the modems that I use at home and in the office do not work with Linux. Linux actually is very much dependant on harware modems as Winmodems are a not really modems which I found out doing a bit of research.

I did find out that one of the modems that works very well with Linux is CNet 5614xe. I just ordered it and will test out the Internet experience for the first time. If all goes well I will post my results hopfully on the weekend when I have some time to spare for experimentation.

These are the modems that I use which failed to work with Linux

US Robotics 56K External Faxmodem model 5630
US Robotics 56 K Internal Voice/Data/Fax Modem model 2884A
Xircom 56k internal modem on IBM thinkpad T21