Your best overclock?

Discussion in 'General' started by Ian, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,861
    Likes Received:
    64
    Following on from Abarbarian's thread on the 5Ghz CPU, I thought it might be interesting to see the overclocks we've done before :)

    I'm currently using a Q6600 2.4Ghz, running at 3Ghz using air cooling. No voltage changes, just a simple FSB change. I'm tempted to push it a little more, but I don't think I'd want to go any further without some better case cooling.

    I've pretty much overclocked every CPU apart from my very first (8086) and previous PC (3.2Ghz P4) - but in between I've overclocked a P120, P200MMX, Duron 600, Duron 900 and a Celeron that I can't remember the speed of.
     
    Ian, Dec 6, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    5% so I'm running at 2310 MHz thats using the on board oc utility . Thats me first oc . I may give it another go but I did not want to chance burn out as its me only pc and I could not replace it if it went bang . Besides I'm still recovering from the learning curve of pc building and software instillation .

    [​IMG]
     
    Abarbarian, Dec 6, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ian

    feckit 4x4 Cruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Plant Earth
    Overclocked my 486 & P120 after buying a newer PC.
    So much that the CPU welded it's self to the Motherboard!!:eek:
    Learnt a lot by doing it, none more than a decent HS&F are always needed!!!!!
     
    feckit, Dec 6, 2007
    #3
  4. Ian

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    18,443
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Greenwich
    To the best of my knowledge I've only done:

    1) An AMD K6-2, I think it was 300Mhz to 350Mhz.
    2) AMD 600Mhz Duron to 800Mhz
    3) AMD 800Mhz Athlon to 1Ghz.
    4) AMD XP3200 Athlon 2.2Ghz to 2.4Ghz for 2.5 years.

    Kinda lost my enthusiasm for overclocking along the way somehwere, dunno why.

    Maybe it was when you didn't have to bridge those cpu gaps with the pecil lead any more, took the fun out of it :D

    I am tempted to have a go at overcloccking my AMD single core 4000. It's running stock at 2.6Ghz at the moment, crunching full time. It has a Noctua NH-U12F cooler with 2 x 120mm fans and only two 120mm case fans (Antec Sonata case) and not only is it the quietest machine I have but it's running at 34C CPU temp even with central heating full on.

    I am very impressed with the Noctua cooler, gotta say :)
     
    floppybootstomp, Dec 6, 2007
    #4
  5. Ian

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,646
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Not oc'ed my E66 yet, which some would call blasphemy, but tbh i've not needed to. It runs everything i need and certainly dont struggle, and the CPU load temps are never above 40C. :)

    I will do at some point, but for now i just cba with doing it.
     
    V_R, Dec 6, 2007
    #5
  6. Ian

    Me__2001 Internet Junkie VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    first up was my 3Ghz P4 northwood up to 3.3Ghz, with the stocl cooler and some vantec tornados in the case

    now i have my X2 4400 from 2.2 up to 2.5Ghz with an Arctic 64 pro
     
    Me__2001, Dec 6, 2007
    #6
  7. Ian

    Belloni VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    I've managed to up mine to 3.2GHz, on an Artic Cooler 7 Pro, very good cooler.

    Seems to run fine currently.
     
    Belloni, Dec 6, 2007
    #7
  8. Ian

    Adywebb Growing old.... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shropshire
    I have 2 Q6600's which are both OC'd from 2.4GHz to 3.4GHz - a 41% overclock.

    They both run 24/7 at 100%, with temps 45-50C (stock 27-30C) - they can probably go further to around 3.6GHz with a little voltage boost, but I am happy with the performance and stability.
     
    Adywebb, Dec 6, 2007
    #8
  9. Ian

    PotGuy VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hemel Hempstead
    My 3700 currently runs at 2860mhz - up from the original 2200mhz. I'm not sure what that is, something like 30%? Current temps are 40 idle and 48 fully loaded.

    I did manage to get it to 3ghz without any real problems once the memory timings were re-adjusted and with a little voltage boost, and the temps under full load were <52 degrees, but it began to artifact and generally bugger itself up during the stress tests.

    It would run happily at 2.9, but I decided that it gives me no performance boost and simply makes things warmer. I want temps to always be under 50 degrees.

    My HSF is pretty darn good though. I haven't bothered cleaning or dusting my case since the new year, so it isn't exacty running under brilliant conditions either. :p
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2007
    PotGuy, Dec 6, 2007
    #9
  10. Ian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    Now running at 2429.02 MHz thats a 20% overclock .Temps cpu 36 to 43 C , mobo 25 C , HDD 23 C thats with running Boinc at 70 % . Mind you its hard work typing with gloves on and six jumpers .

    Funny as earlier in the year I could not get it to run 10% overclock . Still its amazing what you can do with a hoover .

    [​IMG]
     
    Abarbarian, Dec 8, 2007
    #10
  11. Ian

    Me__2001 Internet Junkie VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    i should probably give mine a good clean, especially now the heating is on at this time of year, i dont think its been done for 6 months
     
    Me__2001, Dec 8, 2007
    #11
  12. Ian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    Back down to 2310 MHz seems I have an un-overclockable cpu . Oh well .

    :)
     
    Abarbarian, Dec 8, 2007
    #12
  13. Ian

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    18,443
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Greenwich
    I tried overclocking my AMD 2.6Ghz 4000 single core CPU.

    Purely on fsb.

    Best I could manage was 2.8Ghz :(

    If I went above that it refused to boot.

    Maybe I need better RAM.

    But honestly, I can't be bothered anymore.

    The machine is good, quick, reliable.

    So why mess with it?
     
    floppybootstomp, Dec 8, 2007
    #13
  14. Ian

    Kenny

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    E2140: 1st boot out the box at 100% OC at 1.30V real with watercooling- F@H and UT3 stable. Benched at over 130% OC on dry ice.

    E6850: Hit 5GHz under dry ice from 3GHz stock.

    Crucial Ballistix PC5300: 1st boot out the packet at just under 100% OC. 2nd boot at just over 100% OC :)

    :)
     
    Kenny, Jan 10, 2008
    #14
  15. Ian

    Alf Yank Upstart VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,194
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Best OC? well it aint much but ive have my 57-FX at 3.0GHz instead of 2.8
     
    Alf, Jan 13, 2008
    #15
  16. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,861
    Likes Received:
    64
    I'm going to push my Q6600 today and see if it is stable at 3.4 (as long as the temps look ok!).
     
    Ian, Feb 4, 2008
    #16
  17. Ian

    FSman

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you get on mate? And do you mind me asking what software you used for both overclocking and monitoring temps etc Im going to have a play with my Q6600 tomorrow (Ooops i mean today really should be going to bed lol but hey got to make the most of my holiday :p Back to work on friday so plenty of time to play).

    Cheers Lee.
     
    FSman, Feb 6, 2008
    #17
  18. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,861
    Likes Received:
    64
    I got it to 3.4Ghz without a hitch, but it was running a bit too hot for my liking so I'm back to 3Ghz now. I did the overclock in the bios and looked at temps using "Core Temp" :thumb:

    Try 3.0Ghz first, as it should do that absolutely no problem - then go for something bigger if you want :)
     
    Ian, Feb 6, 2008
    #18
  19. Ian

    FSman

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    K thnx, im gonna start off with my gfx card first then when ive got that where i want it im gonna go onto the CPU next, is there a site that lists acceptable / normal running temps for CPS's and GPUs? Or could you give me some rough figures?

    Thnx a million Lee.

    Dont like to keep asking questions but i want to make sure i do everything right, got to start some where and i dont want to start with an expensive mistake lol.
     
    FSman, Feb 6, 2008
    #19
  20. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,861
    Likes Received:
    64
    Ian, Feb 7, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Kenny
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,044
    Kenny
    Jan 26, 2005
  2. nogan

    Overclock or Upgrade?

    nogan, Feb 20, 2005, in forum: General
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    782
    christopherpostill
    Feb 20, 2005
  3. unknown

    how do you overclock a cpu?

    unknown, May 27, 2005, in forum: General
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    796
    Cache-man
    May 27, 2005
  4. tonycompusa

    new overclock psu sin-tek?

    tonycompusa, Sep 7, 2005, in forum: General
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    469
    tonycompusa
    Sep 7, 2005
  5. someblackguy7130

    How do you overclock a processor?

    someblackguy7130, Sep 11, 2005, in forum: General
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    603
    G~MAN
    Sep 14, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page