Windows XP Windows XP Pro Volume Licensing Key

Reaction score
Hiya everyone,

I am a newbie and would apreciate any help/advice with my enquiry.

I have a problem with the Windows XP Pro I recently purchased.

I am unable to update/validate it as it states that it is not genuine for home use, & only has a VLK licence.

Please can anyone shed any light on this, as I know very little about software.

Reaction score
I purchased it from Ebay and it cost me £49.99....I also checked the seller's feedback and he seemed credible and had sold over 30-40 Windows Xp Pro packages....all with glowing feedback from his customers.

crazylegs

Member Extraordinaire
Reaction score
Oh dear..eBay for Operating software...
russian_roulette.gif

XP Pro for under 50 quid hmmmmmm..I'll take 2 please..

Reaction score
I've just spoken to Microsoft and this is what they have to say!
"Quote:The product key on your computer is not for single-consumer use. Based on your input, we have determined that the product key you purchased is a Volume License Key (VLK) that is not designed for home use. Volume License Keys are typically licensed to an organization, such as a business or educational institution, that wants to use multiple copies of Windows"

crazylegs

Member Extraordinaire
Reaction score
Sounds like this seller on eBay is selling hooky copies of his companys operating software..

All you can do now is launch a dispute with PayPal to get a refund on the software, don't take no speil from the vendor just be firm and state you want a refund as the merchandise is not fit for purpose..
Paypal is on your side with this one..That is if you paid with Paypal..:nod:

Reaction score
Thanks.....the seller is actually co-operating with me and is very understanding. He has infact offered me a full refund which is good seeing as though I only purchased the software on Monday.

I was just wondering though......would there be any way around validating/updating Windows Xp with a licence key?