Strange CPU-Z Result

Discussion in 'General' started by FSman, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. FSman

    FSman

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys when i run CPU-Z and look under the Clocks (Core#0) section my core speed keeps alternating between 2400.3 ish which it should be and 1600.2 ish which totally confuses me, is this normal? It holds at each speed for varying amounts of time around 2 - 5 seconds. In case you need to know the other figures they remain constant Multiplier x 6.0 - Bus Speed 266.7 MHz - Rated FSB 1066.8 ish MHz I havent changed any settings at all yet.

    Also why i am on the subject of CPU what sort of temp should i set as my maximum when i start tweaking, thats if the CPU is ok anyway one of you might tell me i have a faulty CPU before i even start.

    Cheers Lee.
     
    FSman, Feb 7, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. FSman

    FSman

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem i worked it out, when i run a program that uses the CPU like Stress Prime it remains at the correct speed so it must be some piece of software that throttling it back when its not in use.

    I could still do with knowing a safe temp for my CPU to work too whilst i overclock though.

    Many thnx Lee.
     
    FSman, Feb 7, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. FSman

    Adywebb Growing old.... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shropshire
    The CPU speed is changing probably because you have Intel Speedstep (EIST) and C1E active which reduce the speed when not under load - you need to go into the bios and switch them off.


    A safe temperature is somewhat subjective - the Tjunc Max for a Q6600 is 100C - however I would not want to see it running over 70C at full load. All mine run at 45-50C when OC'd to 3.4GHz.
     
    Adywebb, Feb 7, 2008
    #3
  4. FSman

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    18,507
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Greenwich
    To comment on the temperature, I've always held that anything at 50C or under at full load is a good guideline.

    My temps, all at 100% load::

    AMD 3.2Ghz dual: 48C (Asus PC Probe software)(Noctua U12F with 2 x 120mm fans)
    Intel 2.4Ghz dual: 37C(Asus PC Probe software)(Zalman CNPS 9500-AT Cooler)
    AMD 2.6Ghz Single Core: 41C (Asus PC Probe software) (Zalman CNPS 8000 Cooler)
    AMD XP3200 2.2Ghz Single Core Skt A: 37C (DFI Hardware Doctor Software) (Gigabyte Rocket Cooler)

    That AMD AM2 Black Edition 6400 runs hot, it actually goes down to 36C running on idle.
     
    floppybootstomp, Feb 7, 2008
    #4
  5. FSman

    FSman

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great thnx guys im going to set 50C then as my initial limit, then when ive had my shiny new PC a bit longer i may risk taking it higher lol but for now i think 50C is a good limit :D

    Cheers Lee.
     
    FSman, Feb 7, 2008
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. floppybootstomp

    Good guide to unlocking XP CPU

    floppybootstomp, Apr 12, 2002, in forum: General
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    6,276
    muckshifter
    May 22, 2002
  2. Ian

    CPU Value

    Ian, Jun 16, 2002, in forum: General
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    2,954
    Eric Portelance
    Jul 3, 2002
  3. mojouk
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    924
    mojouk
    Mar 1, 2005
  4. Ian

    Strange Hardware Items?

    Ian, Jun 4, 2005, in forum: General
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    367
    christopherpostill
    Jun 5, 2005
  5. Alf

    Strange Cases

    Alf, Jul 2, 2007, in forum: General
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    575
    Abarbarian
    Jul 8, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page