Windows XP STOP: c000021a (Fatal System Error)

Reaction score
Hi

Dell Dimension 5150
Pentium D 820 DualCore 2.8Ghz
80.00Gb 7200 rpm SATA HD
2GB Mem
AVG Free
Windows XP
Firefox

Son last used machine normally on Tuesday 27 July. Logged in today. Accessed internet. Installed Google Chrome. Played computer game from C: drive. Accessed internet. Turned off machine. Restarted machine. Logged in. BSOD. Error message: STOP: c000021a {Fatal System Error}
The Windows Logon Process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0x00000000 (0×00000000 0×00000000).
The system has been shut down.

Tried rebooting in safe mode, removing Google Chrome, and everything seems fine but when log on again get same BSOD

Tried System Restore but no restore points present other than one set after the BSOD

Tried chkdsk but nothing obvious - I'm not a computer expert so not sure what I was looking for to be honest

Tried MSCONFIG and ran in Diagnostic mode, completed that and then rebooted computer but got BSOD again

Ran CCleaner

Currently running virus scan in safe mode

Can anyone help please?

PiP

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
welcome to PCR

Check these ...

Error Message: Stop c000021a {Fatal System Error} The Session Manager Initialization System Process...
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;317189

Security Accounts Manager Initialization Failed" Error Message When You Start Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;316751

Stop 0x21a" Error Message Occurs If You Download a RIPrep Image
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;308299

or try reinstalling windows xp

Reinstallation of XP:
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q315341

... most resort to a re-install.

:user:

Reaction score
Hi

Dell Dimension 5150
Pentium D 820 DualCore 2.8Ghz
80.00Gb 7200 rpm SATA HD
2GB Mem
AVG Free
Windows XP
Firefox