Novice Reqs Help Wiping Hard Drive

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a real novice when it comes to computers- basic use like email, surfing, poker, photos etc- i've just bought a laptop and wish to wipe the hard drive on my old desktop before i sell it- mainly because of these stories about people being able to recover data from deep inside old PCs.

I've found out some stuff about reformatting and disk wiping-is this a 'data dump?' but i don't know where to start.

Will a data dump wipe everything even programs (word, adobe, picassa etc) and leave me with simply a computer?

The desktop isn't online but could i download the software on the laptop and transfer it via a disk without any risk to the laptop?

Am i being a bit too obsessive about this, there's no real sensitive info on there-i do basic online banking and have entered card details for paypal, poker etc, is there a simpler way of achieving this?

Apologies for so many questions and for sounding like a real caveman but any help would be greatly appreciated!!

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Forget the term 'Data Dump'

To erase your hard disk you're going to have to boot your computer from a CD or DVD with suitable software on it.

There is a facility called 'The Ultimate Boot Disk' which you can download, burn to disk and boot from which has facilities that will let you erase your hard disk.

An easier solution would be to download a Linux Distro, burn that to disk and boot from it. Within the 'Live' facility of a Linux Distro (Linux Mint or Ubuntu are as good as any) you can browse to your hard disk, right click and choose 'format'.

Know that if anybody is determined enough there's a chance they could actually access your old data even after you've erased the disk but the chances of that happening are very slight.

Reaction score
thanks for your quick reply - i'm suprised i understood so much of it!