noob in pc building plz help

Reaction score
I am a noob to pc building and would like some help with it, i already posted in the hardware supporrt part but realise now that i should have put everything in here.
1st of all i want a decent gaming pc,i already got a pc of which i can get some parts off, but i want to get a new mainboard, gcard etc. any way this is what i found so far and was thinking of getting :

mainboard- abit nf7-sv2.0
gcard- ATI Radeon 9200 256mb ddr
case- stuck at this one, i like to go to lan games so it has to be light and i want a window kit and plenty of air supply( also cheap enough probably asking for too much lol)

thnx for the help

Reaction score
cant say ive looked at the 9200, but im going for a 9800 pro 128 meg, the extra 128 meg (in the 256 card) doesnt make much difference atm. the mobo i havent looked at either.............gee.......im not much help.

a wireless mouse is probably not a good idea for ya, slow response times compared to a wired mouse, and get an infra red one, keeps its "preciseness".

get a mobo with dual channel, support for at least 3 gig of DDR400 RAM.

extra fans are always a good thing :)

imguessing u use an LCD screen, but a CRT will keep up with the refresh rate games demand these days.

at LEAST 1GIG of DDR RAM, preferably Corsair, but that'll cost ya!!!

120 gig HDD is a minimum.

gigabit LAN is always nice as well :)

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Good choice of motherboard. If you're going for the 9200 card, try and stretch your budget to the XT version, it's a fine card, any make except Sapphire should be OK.

And I believe atm you'll get a Half Life Two voucher, which can't be bad :)

If you're into LAN gaming, perhaps consider a Shuttle system or similar. Small, neat, case, ideal for LAN's and you can buy a carry case for them as well.

Reaction score
thnx for the replies

floppy wots wrong with saphire and do u have a link for the case cos i couldnt find it anywhere