New graphics card has some strange effects going on........

Reaction score
I've just fitted a Nvidia 6600GT, woohooooo.........THEN I started playing one of my PC games on it.........

unfortunately the graphics have a strange colour/shading gradient effect going on. The colours aren't blending at all. The shading isn't smooth.

The video game itself is fine because I tested it on my sisters PC and she has an Radeon ATI X300SE, which is a worse graphics card than mine. But there is no strange colour gradient effect on her PC.

Is there a special setting that needs to be adjusted. I don't really have a clue about how to adjust stuff on my graphics card.....so I would really appreciate any help on this. Especially from anyone who has the same graphics card.

Cheers!!

Reaction score
How many games have you tried with it, though?
I can't even begin to pinpoint it from your description but try this:

Right click on your desktop -> properties -> settings tab -> advanced -> then /hopefully/ you should be able to see on a tab, the name of your current graphics card installed in your computer. Click on it.

Near the bottom of that window there will be a section witrh the text "antialising settings value." Check what that is - look it up to see what it should be for the game you are trying to play. Normally there would be a setting "Application-controlled" Ticked.

Just a thought - I know sometimes it can affect certain games in a way vaguely described by you.

Reaction score
For a start ... what game is it ?! lol

I had a Gainward 6600GT but i now have a 6800 and had no problems with the 6600GT though ... very odd

:)

Reaction score
Hi.

I've sorted it out. I just restored all the Nvidia Settings to Default, and seems to have done the trick. I think it was the anti aliasing thing that you mentioned ReDtAiL_. Cheers for that.