new case with wierd and wonderful results ? not

Discussion in 'Support' started by swanmark, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. swanmark

    swanmark

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, this is my first post, I decided to change my large desktop case for a new opera media case, i put everything back as it should and most has worked except for the dvd drive, I am running windows 7 home premium, my motherboard is a ASRock 4 core dual sata 2, running 4 pentium 2.4 chips, when I go to my computer It shows a cd drive instead of a dvd drive, after some time it may show the dvd drive, and after a while shows just a cd drive again, if i insert a dvd, the dvd light is on contstantly, after about 20 mins or so, it will play the dvd, but very jumpy, anyone know how to fix this, I have updated all the drivers but to no avail, also my second HDD shows up on the start up screen but not in my computer, this also is intermitent, there one minute gone the next, and I have noticed if I touch any of the cables at the back the computer reboots ?, the only thing I can think of is when I installed the spacers when fitting the mobo, I have put them in the wrong place, I foolishly forgot to check the position of the screws before I removed the mobo, in the new case all the holes match up with all the holes in the mobo, so how do i tell which are the correct ones, any help would be really great, thanks in advance guys.
     
    swanmark, Jun 15, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. swanmark

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,919
    Likes Received:
    99
    Welcome to the forums :).

    The reboot problem sounds the most serious (and everything seems related). I'd open up your new case and check the fit of everything (and all the cables!) - it could be that you've got some loose connections in there.

    If you want to check the fit of the spacers, you'd need to take the motherboard out and count/place all the spacers for each motherboard hole you see.
     
    Ian, Jun 15, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. swanmark

    swanmark

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that, but as I already said all the holes have room for spacers and all the holes on the mobo also match up with them so should i use every hole ?.

     
    swanmark, Jun 15, 2011
    #3
  4. swanmark

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,919
    Likes Received:
    99
    Technically, you don't need to use every hole - however if you've got it unbalanced or not enough secure points then it isn't ideal. If you've got enough spacers then I'd take it out and make sure you use them all - partly because when you do this you'll need to re-fit everything anyway :).
     
    Ian, Jun 15, 2011
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Flameboy

    A bit of a wierd 1

    Flameboy, Dec 15, 2005, in forum: Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    327
    muckshifter
    Dec 15, 2005
  2. abz

    mobo and case size?

    abz, Sep 27, 2006, in forum: Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    318
  3. abz
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    610
    floppybootstomp
    Oct 6, 2006
  4. Roflcopter66
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    439
    Adywebb
    Jun 22, 2008
  5. schrecklichkeit

    crashes and memtest results

    schrecklichkeit, Dec 2, 2009, in forum: Support
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    547
    floppybootstomp
    Dec 7, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page