MS Visual Basic - Error Accessing File

G

Guest

When I try and view a module to make changes I get this message: "Error
Accessing File. Network connection may have been lost." Does anyone know
what this means or what I should do? Thanks for any help you can give.
 
J

Jeff Conrad

in message:
When I try and view a module to make changes I get this message: "Error
Accessing File. Network connection may have been lost." Does anyone know
what this means or what I should do? Thanks for any help you can give.

Hi,

Are you using Access 2000 without SP3 installed by
chance? Is so read on.

I think you've been stung by a particularly nasty bug in
Access 2000. Sure sign is that dreaded "Network Connection
may have been lost.." message. Details about it can be
found here:

http://support.microsoft.com/?id=304548

The corruption in your database may not be recoverable.
You might try importing everything into another database.
I believe this bug is fixed with Service Pack 3, but it
will not *fix* corruption already present. To avoid this
bug you absolutely, positively, have to compile your
database EVERY time you import something.

Also, (from MVP Dirk Goldgar) one other thing you might
try first is decompiling your database -- or rather, a
copy of it. Instructions for how to do this may be found
here:

http://www.mvps.org/access/bugs/bugs0008.htm

and here:

http://www.granite.ab.ca/access/decompile.htm

This was also posted by someone from Microsoft (my next employer):

326605 ACC2000: Issues Fixed in Access 2000 by Office 2000 Service Pack 3
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=326605

304548 ACC2000: Error Message: Error Accessing File. Network Connection May
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=304548

After applying Office 2000 sp3 you are going to need to salvage your
database modules (Standard, Forms/Reports) by saving them out to text
files. Example:

- Open Form/Report in design view and select menu option View > Code
- Select the menu option Edit > Select All (to select vba code)
- Select menu option Edit > Copy
- Paste in Notepad file
- Close VBA window to return to Form/Report
- Within the properties Window of Form/Report change the property "Has
Module" from "Yes" to "No"
(this will delete the code behind the object)
- Save your Form/Report
************* Repeat above steps for each Form/Report that has code
*****************
- For your Standard module just open and copy to text files

- Then import all your objects (within exception of your Modules) to a new
database file
- Copy the code from the above text files into new modules in your new
database
- For the Forms/Reports reverse the steps by opening their VBA modules and
pasting the code from the text files

*******************************
You can also try running decompile switch but the above methods are
normally your only shot..


I hope this helps! If you have additional questions on this topic, please
respond back to this posting.


Regards,

Eric Butts
Microsoft Access
Good luck,
 
G

Guest

I am using Access 2003. Any ideas for that one?

Jeff Conrad said:
in message:


Hi,

Are you using Access 2000 without SP3 installed by
chance? Is so read on.

I think you've been stung by a particularly nasty bug in
Access 2000. Sure sign is that dreaded "Network Connection
may have been lost.." message. Details about it can be
found here:

http://support.microsoft.com/?id=304548

The corruption in your database may not be recoverable.
You might try importing everything into another database.
I believe this bug is fixed with Service Pack 3, but it
will not *fix* corruption already present. To avoid this
bug you absolutely, positively, have to compile your
database EVERY time you import something.

Also, (from MVP Dirk Goldgar) one other thing you might
try first is decompiling your database -- or rather, a
copy of it. Instructions for how to do this may be found
here:

http://www.mvps.org/access/bugs/bugs0008.htm

and here:

http://www.granite.ab.ca/access/decompile.htm

This was also posted by someone from Microsoft (my next employer):

326605 ACC2000: Issues Fixed in Access 2000 by Office 2000 Service Pack 3
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=326605

304548 ACC2000: Error Message: Error Accessing File. Network Connection May
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=304548

After applying Office 2000 sp3 you are going to need to salvage your
database modules (Standard, Forms/Reports) by saving them out to text
files. Example:

- Open Form/Report in design view and select menu option View > Code
- Select the menu option Edit > Select All (to select vba code)
- Select menu option Edit > Copy
- Paste in Notepad file
- Close VBA window to return to Form/Report
- Within the properties Window of Form/Report change the property "Has
Module" from "Yes" to "No"
(this will delete the code behind the object)
- Save your Form/Report
************* Repeat above steps for each Form/Report that has code
*****************
- For your Standard module just open and copy to text files

- Then import all your objects (within exception of your Modules) to a new
database file
- Copy the code from the above text files into new modules in your new
database
- For the Forms/Reports reverse the steps by opening their VBA modules and
pasting the code from the text files

*******************************
You can also try running decompile switch but the above methods are
normally your only shot..


I hope this helps! If you have additional questions on this topic, please
respond back to this posting.


Regards,

Eric Butts
Microsoft Access

Good luck,
 
G

Guest

That link is for Access 2000...I am using 2003, will that make a difference?

Klatuu said:
Your database is corrupt. I just went through this. Here is a website that
will give you all the gory details and how to fix it.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;[LN];304548

KingsWay said:
When I try and view a module to make changes I get this message: "Error
Accessing File. Network connection may have been lost." Does anyone know
what this means or what I should do? Thanks for any help you can give.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top