letter after u won't work

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jacobitelady, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. jacobitelady

    jacobitelady

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    The letter in the alphabet after u won't work. I can press it foreer and it just won't work. The computer is new, but I bought it in America and lie in Scotland. Can't go back and complain too far away. Hae tried compressed air, but what else can I do?
     
    jacobitelady, Jul 8, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jacobitelady

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    499
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    try another keyboard. :)


    :user:
     
    muckshifter, Jul 8, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jacobitelady

    jacobitelady

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a laptop. I can only use the keyboard that comes with it.:cry:
     
    jacobitelady, Jul 8, 2012
    #3
  4. jacobitelady

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    499
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    you can use a USB keyboard to check, I'm sure you have a USB port ... and if you then get a V, you know you are gonna type funny for a wee while. :)


    :user:
     
    muckshifter, Jul 9, 2012
    #4
  5. jacobitelady

    jacobitelady

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am using a downloaded irtual keyboard and that works. Rebooting didn't help. According to the control panel it is working fine.
     
    jacobitelady, Jul 9, 2012
    #5
  6. jacobitelady

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    Greenwich
    Don't suppose it's set up as an American keyboard layout?
     
    floppybootstomp, Jul 9, 2012
    #6
  7. jacobitelady

    Abarbarian Acruncher

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    [​IMG]

    Most folk think V is fictional. In fact he is a underground anarchist based in the USA. The authorities are so worried by his popularity that they are trying to obliterate all traces of V. An that includes keys on pc's. You did say that your pc was bought in the USA. Strange as it may seem this is in fact a true fact.

    :cool:
     
    Abarbarian, Jul 9, 2012
    #7
  8. jacobitelady

    jacobitelady

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it is American and annoying because I don't hae a pound sign but it is an American keyboard
     
    jacobitelady, Jul 9, 2012
    #8
  9. jacobitelady

    V_R ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Likes Received:
    483
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    What do you get when you press shift and 3?

    Also to use the pound sign on a Us KB press Alt Gr and 4. :)
     
    V_R, Jul 9, 2012
    #9
  10. jacobitelady

    alow Excel Formulator

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    US
    I think he's referring to the symbol for Currency, not # :)
     
    alow, Jul 10, 2012
    #10
  11. jacobitelady

    V_R ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Likes Received:
    483
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Indeed, i know that, was trying to ascertain what their layout settings were. :)

    Also, I'm assuming that Jackobitelady is a she not a he. ;)
     
    V_R, Jul 10, 2012
    #11
  12. jacobitelady

    alow Excel Formulator

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    US
    Would you look at that... I need to work on my reading a bit it seems :confused:
     
    alow, Jul 10, 2012
    #12
  13. jacobitelady

    jacobitelady

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    when I press shift and 3 I get #. I hae 2 alts but no alt gr.
     
    jacobitelady, Jul 10, 2012
    #13
  14. jacobitelady

    EvanDavis Silly Fool

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Likes Received:
    133
    Here's my two pence worth. Have you tried going into Device Manager and updating Human Interface Devices Drivers( Keyboard ) ?
    Or check what sticky keys are enabled. Maybe you enabled V as a sticky key by accident
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2012
    EvanDavis, Jul 11, 2012
    #14
  15. jacobitelady

    jacobitelady

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK< how do I do that? I am just a beginner at trying to fix this thing. :confused:
     
    jacobitelady, Jul 11, 2012
    #15
  16. jacobitelady

    EvanDavis Silly Fool

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Likes Received:
    133
    What OS are you running ?
     
    EvanDavis, Jul 11, 2012
    #16
  17. jacobitelady

    jacobitelady

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am on Windows 7. This is a practically brand new computer. But can't get it back to the shop for the warranty

    I started using a irtual keyboard the letter won't work on that either.
     
    jacobitelady, Jul 12, 2012
    #17
  18. jacobitelady

    jacobitelady

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just checked sticky keys, they are not turned on. I am on windows 7. Can anyone please help:confused:
     
    jacobitelady, Jul 14, 2012
    #18
  19. jacobitelady

    jacobitelady

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    just checked the device manager (I used copy and paste for that) and the software is up to date and my hardware is fine. When I turn on the computer I get a picture of my keyboard. I don't know what that means, but I get it. Help!!!!!!!!
     
    jacobitelady, Jul 14, 2012
    #19
  20. jacobitelady

    EvanDavis Silly Fool

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Likes Received:
    133

    Has the " V " ever worked since you got the laptop ?
    If it has, then back up all your data and do a factory reset.
    And whether or not you are in the same country a manufacturers warrenty will still hold.
     
    EvanDavis, Jul 14, 2012
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. floppybootstomp

    Network won't recognise Modem

    floppybootstomp, Dec 10, 2003, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,258
    floppybootstomp
    Dec 10, 2003
  2. Kortex
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,875
    Anon_F
    Jul 6, 2015
  3. Ceri

    help - windows xp won't start

    Ceri, Jul 4, 2005, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    316
  4. boburst

    Vaio battery won't charge

    boburst, Aug 17, 2005, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    448
  5. stuartw101

    PSU won't fit

    stuartw101, Feb 13, 2006, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    634
    itsme
    Feb 13, 2006
  6. Graham_Comtek

    PC won't go past "Checking NVRAM"...

    Graham_Comtek, Jan 18, 2008, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,849
    Abarbarian
    Jan 19, 2008
  7. gtz101
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    902
    floppybootstomp
    Dec 29, 2008
  8. werea
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    968
    werea
    Feb 25, 2014
Loading...