Is this 'system32/printer.exe' warning a Trojan Virus?

Reaction score
Hi. I'm brand new to this forum and I'm hoping somebody can help me out...

When I log on to my computer, the following things are bugging me:

1) I get the following message right away:
Windows cannot find 'c:/windows/system32/printer.exe'

2) Microsoft Word cannot seem to find the correct printer and connect to it.

3) My Administrator functions are not available and I get a message that "restrictions are in effect on this computer".

I am using Windows XP and I attached the HijackThis log below.

I am a total novice at this and don't really even know what a Trojan or a worm is... I just know that my computer is being really annoying... :(

Attachments

• loghijackthis.txt
    8.5 KB · Views: 342

Waynos_Face

New Cruncher
Reaction score
Ah, had a problem posting then meant to add you want the blue box at the bottom that says free home version.

Reaction score
I have a really good spyware program (PrevX) and that did not catch it... I am wary of downloading a bunch of anti-spy programs I'm not familiar with because:

a) they don't catch anything
b) they give you more viruses

I'm looking for someone that can maybe tell me exactly where the problem file is... or what it is...

Waynos_Face

New Cruncher
Reaction score
Super Anti Spyware is considered the best program out there at the moment, give it a go.

Reaction score
the best way i know how to deal with trojans and viruses and all that crap is by restarting in safe mode (F8 on boot) and running a trusted anti-virus software then spybot thereafter. those eyesores will become a thing of the past in no time.

Adywebb

Growing old....
Reaction score
SignFire said:
I have a really good spyware program (PrevX) and that did not catch it... I am wary of downloading a bunch of anti-spy programs I'm not familiar with because:

a) they don't catch anything
b) they give you more viruses