ipconfig/flushdns

Discussion in 'Security, Spyware and Viruses' started by hanan1995, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. hanan1995

    hanan1995

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Any where you wanna be!
    Hi,
    I changed the host file in the Driver/etc and then I entered ipconfig/flushdns in CMD and then I restarted. After that everytime I visit any website; there I see adverts and those adverts are not by those websites. For example Every time I go on Facebook there I can see adverts which are not by the facebooks and same on the other sides. :/

    Please help me!...I am using adverts blocker and avg and other similar softwares...this has made my Laptop really really slow....


    Thanks

    Hanan
     
    hanan1995, Aug 8, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. hanan1995

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,602
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    V_R, Aug 11, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. hanan1995

    hanan1995

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Any where you wanna be!
    I am using Adblock Plus and I have installed AVG...but it not working...I have even switched off the power, unpluged the router and then pluged it in and swithced on the power...thinking that It might change the ip....
     
    hanan1995, Aug 11, 2012
    #3
  4. hanan1995

    EvanDavis Silly Fool VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,461
    Likes Received:
    27
    Try doing a hard reset on the router to see if that makes a difference.

    Also follow the link and download Windows Defender Offline and run it to rule out any nasties. The instructions are on the site.
    And in my opinion find a better anti-virus :D

    As V_R asked, what was the reason for changing the host file ? And did you think to make a back up of it before you changed it ?
     
    EvanDavis, Aug 11, 2012
    #4
  5. hanan1995

    hanan1995

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Any where you wanna be!
    I was just messing up...but I changed it back....
     
    hanan1995, Aug 11, 2012
    #5
  6. hanan1995

    EvanDavis Silly Fool VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,461
    Likes Received:
    27
    As the old saying goes. " If it aint broke, don't fix it "

    You can try using Fix It to reset the host file. As for the adverts you are talking about, Iam a bit stumped on thatone.
     
    EvanDavis, Aug 11, 2012
    #6
  7. hanan1995

    hanan1995

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Any where you wanna be!
    On every website I go...there are adverts coming which are not by those websites...like on my own website...which is ads free...there I can see the adverts...which are not supposed to be over there...I don't why am I getting those...!
     
    hanan1995, Aug 11, 2012
    #7
  8. hanan1995

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    18,387
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Greenwich
    Sounds to me like you all malwared/virused up old son.

    Tell me, did you run Malwarebytes & Windows Defender Offline as advised?

    Not really worth commenting until you done those things.
     
    floppybootstomp, Aug 11, 2012
    #8
  9. hanan1995

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,602
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    +1
     
    V_R, Aug 12, 2012
    #9
  10. hanan1995

    hanan1995

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Any where you wanna be!
    I have done that! ads are still not going!!!!
     
    hanan1995, Aug 12, 2012
    #10
  11. hanan1995

    EvanDavis Silly Fool VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,461
    Likes Received:
    27
    Can you post a screen shot of these adds please ?
     
    EvanDavis, Aug 12, 2012
    #11
  12. hanan1995

    hanan1995

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Any where you wanna be!
    Here you go!
     

    Attached Files:

    hanan1995, Aug 12, 2012
    #12
  13. hanan1995

    EvanDavis Silly Fool VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,461
    Likes Received:
    27
    Did the Addblock Plus you have by any chance say BETA next to it ?? I have just installed it and still see adverts. I'd say get shot of it and see what happens :)

    Also what scans have you run. More details = more help we can give you :)
     
    EvanDavis, Aug 12, 2012
    #13
  14. hanan1995

    hanan1995

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Any where you wanna be!
    Do you mean computer scans???

    If Yes, then I have made a scan on AVG, Malwarebytes and Norton; no virus is found...:confused:
     
    hanan1995, Aug 13, 2012
    #14
  15. hanan1995

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,602
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    When i was using Chrome there was two Adblockers, the very popular one and the other one that said it was a beta, the beta one was better imo, but you need to make sure you sub to the right lists. ;)

    I dont use Chrome any more so cant tell you any more than that.
     
    V_R, Aug 13, 2012
    #15
  16. hanan1995

    hanan1995

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Any where you wanna be!
    Can you (undo) a command...in CMD...
     
    hanan1995, Aug 13, 2012
    #16
  17. hanan1995

    EvanDavis Silly Fool VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,461
    Likes Received:
    27
    What command did you type in CMD ??



    I hope you haven't got both AVG and Norton installed on your computer. The two will conflict with each other.

    Try using the Offline defender I linked to in a previous post. Its a brilliant tool and often pics up stuff that other AV's and scans don't

    Failing that, do a HJT and head over to Bleepingcomputers.com
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2012
    EvanDavis, Aug 13, 2012
    #17
  18. hanan1995

    hanan1995

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Any where you wanna be!
    ipconfig/flushdns
     
    hanan1995, Aug 13, 2012
    #18
  19. hanan1995

    EvanDavis Silly Fool VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,461
    Likes Received:
    27
    Nope once you have run " ipconfig /flushdns " you can't undo the command.

    DNSflush clears the DNS cache, which essentially stores the locations ( IP addresses ) of websites you have recently visited. Once its cleared its cleared.
     
    EvanDavis, Aug 13, 2012
    #19
  20. hanan1995

    hanan1995

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Any where you wanna be!
    So what it actually do?
     
    hanan1995, Aug 13, 2012
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.

Share This Page