Interesting ...

Discussion in 'Linux' started by muckshifter, Oct 8, 2006.

  1. muckshifter

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,730
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    ;)

    http://www.desktoplinux.com/articles/AT8654567451.html


    [​IMG]
    [/font]
     
    muckshifter, Oct 8, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. muckshifter

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,824
    Likes Received:
    43
    Ian, Oct 8, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. muckshifter

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    18,391
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Greenwich
    I installed PCLinuxOS recently, having a few probs with it, I can't seem to change the screen resolution :confused:
     
    floppybootstomp, Oct 8, 2006
    #3
  4. muckshifter

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,730
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    It's generally called PCLoS ... it was a dead Loss as far as my PCs were concerned also.

    You have to remember one thing with Linux Distro's ... you don't find one YOU like as much as find one your PC likes. ;)

    As for Maddrivermeupthewallagain (Mandriva) ... I'm re-installing Suse back on in it's place ... :rolleyes:


    That'll be another "device" added to my stack @ WCG. [​IMG]
     
    muckshifter, Oct 8, 2006
    #4
  5. muckshifter

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    18,391
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Greenwich
    Aye, I've tried a few now and the only one I've taken to straight away is Suse. And that despite having to download and install most media aps.

    I still haven't been able to get a download for Mandriva One though.
     
    floppybootstomp, Oct 8, 2006
    #5
  6. muckshifter

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,730
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    I wouldn't bother ... I got it through FTP download and it went on as sweet as can be ... but I see the 'official' mirrors ain't offering the one I have ??

    I just cannot get on with it. The thing that is driving me nuts, yeah I know, is how many fly-out-menus you have to traverse just to find something.


    Been there seen it done it ... NEXT!! [​IMG]
     
    muckshifter, Oct 8, 2006
    #6
  7. muckshifter

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    18,391
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Greenwich
    Ok, I'll take your word for it, me stick with Suse :)
     
    floppybootstomp, Oct 8, 2006
    #7
  8. muckshifter

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,730
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    Well you don't have to but ...

    One of the 'nice' things I love about Linux is, all the toys ... Superkaramba, now part of KDE, just makes the thing a whole lot of fun.

    An important requirement to run some of them there "widgits" is PyQt ... damned if I can get it to install on either Mandriva 2006 or 2007 ... I've had one of the best minds on Mandriva working with me to solve it ... I'll give it another hour then I go back to Suse.

    My analogy ...
    Suse = XP
    Mandriva = WinME (but understands 95% of today's hardware)

    what are the differences between ...
    Sunna updated to Mandriva 2007 Free
    Mandriva 2007 Free Download on their site now
    Mandriva 2007 Discovery
    Mandriva 2007 Powerpack

    Tried finding comparisons on Mandriva's Site but non available ... and then got this from another user;
    Version Free download - is free (it's around there somewhere)
    Discovery has your proprietary drivers ... (this is what I have)
    Powerpack has everything for networking and hard core usage. (you need to pay for this one)


    anyway ... [​IMG]
     
    muckshifter, Oct 8, 2006
    #8
  9. muckshifter

    feckit 4x4 Cruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,229
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Plant Earth
    Cheers for the info, always good to look before i take the plunge:thumb:
    Would linux run on a P2 233 with 32MB RAM & 3GB HDD?
     
    feckit, Oct 8, 2006
    #9
  10. muckshifter

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,730
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    I never manage it, and I have a 6gig HD ... WinMe worked fine though. I still think the HD is non Linux happy though.

    [​IMG]
     
    muckshifter, Oct 8, 2006
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.

Share This Page