How to identify spyware

Discussion in 'Security, Spyware and Viruses' started by gavinhodges00, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. gavinhodges00

    gavinhodges00

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    If spyware is in my computer how can i identify that one.

    Thanks
     
    gavinhodges00, Jan 30, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. gavinhodges00

    itsme VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Run a scan if you have spyware it will show what it is?:thumb:

    Or call the FBI:D
     
    itsme, Jan 30, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. gavinhodges00

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,542
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    [​IMG]

    Be proactive. Strike first.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Abarbarian, Jan 30, 2009
    #3
  4. gavinhodges00

    Waynos_Face New Cruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Superantispyware
     
    Waynos_Face, Jan 30, 2009
    #4
  5. gavinhodges00

    gavinhodges00

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you recommend me some free anti spy wares .
     
    gavinhodges00, Feb 2, 2009
    #5
  6. gavinhodges00

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,730
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    V_R, Feb 2, 2009
    #6
  7. gavinhodges00

    historian

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    South London
    To many antispy progs.

    Can some one advise me:
    I`ve got "SuperAnti Spyware" Which is free.
    And "C.A, security center" anti virus prog. Which costs me about £30 per year. Also I have AOLs own spyware program,which scans my computer now and again. Now what I would like to know is; do these programs interfear with the running of the computer,that is can they slow it down.And have I got to many running. If so which one should I get rid of?
    Thanks for any replies.
    historian.
     
    historian, Feb 2, 2009
    #7
  8. gavinhodges00

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,730
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Loose the AOL crap and use Malwarebytes instead imo. :)

    Super Anti Spyware and MalwareBytes are scanners not guards. So use Windows defender for a guard that runs in the background.

    Never heard of that CA AV, so cant comment on how good it is. Personally i'd go for NOD32 or Kaspersky if you wish to pay for an security suite. Antivir and Keiro if you want free. All can be found in the above link. :)
     
    V_R, Feb 2, 2009
    #8
  9. gavinhodges00

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,542
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    You can speed up your pc by getting rid of all the AOL software on your pc by connecting a router or a router/modem.
    In the past I have used AOL's modem through a Linskys 4 port router. Now I am using a modified BT router/modem. Never had any problems at all. No crashing AOL software or updates etc.

    [​IMG]
     
    Abarbarian, Feb 3, 2009
    #9
  10. gavinhodges00

    historian

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    South London
    Hi Abarbarian.

    Thanks for your reply,and to everyone else.
    I really do not know a lot about computers or about modems and routers,so please help me here. You say to get rid of the AOL software and it`s modem, is that right? But if I do that will I not lose AOL it self and then have to go looking for another provider? And, should I go down this path, what is a "modem/router" Where do I find such a beast and at what cost?
    Am I making myself clear?
    historian :confused:
     
    historian, Feb 3, 2009
    #10
  11. gavinhodges00

    gavinhodges00

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now i am using super anti spyware , This is very good.
     
    gavinhodges00, Feb 4, 2009
    #11
  12. gavinhodges00

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,542
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    Historian at the moment you have,

    Phone wall socket > cable to AOL modem > cable to pc > AOLsoftware ok when it is working fine, using up cpu and space on pc and downloading updates an consuming time when you switch pc on.

    Here is an alternative,

    Phone wall socket > cable to router/modem > cable to pc > no software of anykind, switch on pc and you have instant connection, an you get extra protection via router/modem = paradise.

    Or you could go,

    Phone wall socket > cable to router > cable to AOL modem > cable to pc > no software of anykind, switch on pc and you have instant connection, an you get extra protection via router/modem = paradise.

    Someone here at the site has a link too a good site for secondhand router/modems hopefully they will read this and post. Or someone here will give advice as to the most suitable piece of equipment for you.

    I have a Linskys 4 port router you could have for £3 + postage but you might get a better deal elswhere. See what folks advise first.

    I'm still using AOL's free McAfee Firewall and I have done both of the above and it still updates etc etc . You do have to download McAfee Firewall software from the site and download it while you have the AOL software on your pc first before you get rid of the AOL software, then install it when you are AOL free.

    Hope this helps.

    [​IMG]
     
    Abarbarian, Feb 5, 2009
    #12
  13. gavinhodges00

    historian

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    South London
    Many thanks for your reply sorry for not getting back you to sooner.
    I think I`m more puzzled than ever by the different roads you suggest.If I get rid of AOLs softwear does it mean that I will lose my e-mails,or the part of thr programme down loads them?
    historian
     
    historian, Feb 7, 2009
    #13
  14. gavinhodges00

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,907
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    K.I.S.S. = Keep It Simple Silly


    What AB was tryin to say was to take out one of the equations not needed ... the AOL software.

    BT have similar behaviors, as do many ISP's, is all designed to make their life easier, however, it confuse a lot of people lot of the time.

    I don't have any ISP software runnin, especial their free Norton AV program. :lol:

    You don't need any ISP software, if you do, then you with the wrong ISP. :nod:

    Now, havin said that, what you got ain't doing you any harm (AOHell syndrome not in effect) and it works ... leave it be ... if I, or any of the others are passing your house, I'm sure we can "fix" it over a cup of coffee ... ;)

    It ain't broke, don't fix it. :thumb:


    I have heard of CA, they were in the forefront in the good ol' days of DOS ... today I use ESET NOD32 AV ... when your subs run out, have a look for a better cheaper alternative, but until then, enjoy your PC. :nod:


    :user:
     
    muckshifter, Feb 8, 2009
    #14
  15. gavinhodges00

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,542
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    Mucks is right if you r AOL software is running ok leave it be. If you do get rid of it you can still access your AOL e-mail service from here.

    http://info.aol.co.uk/email/

    [​IMG]
     
    Abarbarian, Feb 8, 2009
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. muckshifter

    What makes a great Anti-Spyware solution?

    muckshifter, Sep 3, 2005, in forum: Security, Spyware and Viruses
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,176
    muckshifter
    Sep 3, 2005
  2. muckshifter

    Definitions of Spyware on the Web:

    muckshifter, Sep 3, 2005, in forum: Security, Spyware and Viruses
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,187
    muckshifter
    Sep 3, 2005
  3. Ian

    Spyware without even realising it

    Ian, Sep 28, 2005, in forum: Security, Spyware and Viruses
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,206
    muckshifter
    Oct 29, 2005
  4. 10344

    firewals,anti virus,and spyware

    10344, Oct 26, 2005, in forum: Security, Spyware and Viruses
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,000
    10344
    Oct 26, 2005
  5. Quadophile

    Anti-Spyware definitions finalised

    Quadophile, Oct 28, 2005, in forum: Security, Spyware and Viruses
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    770
    muckshifter
    Oct 28, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page