how do you overclock a cpu?

Reaction score
I am new with this, and I wonder how to overclock a cpu. i did some research and i know i can overclock the cpu from 2.6GHz to 3.14GHz. Ohh i am using a P4. I will be happy with an info.

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
hi can you give us more info on your system, you won't be able to OC that much with just air so im assuming you have a decent watercooling setup ?

Alf

Yank Upstart
Reaction score
Me__2001 said:
hi can you give us more info on your system, you won't be able to OC that much with just air so im assuming you have a decent watercooling setup ?
doubt it, watercooling is a little expensive if you havent heard :D
ive been able to get a good overclock with air cooling, but i had to get new CPU cooler and more fans.
First thing ill tell you, i hope you know the risks involved in overclocking, second, other members (Flops, Mucks) will tell you its a bad idea and try to steer you away (they tried with me:D)
Third, i dont know how to OC a Pentium 4 :p

gimme a few minutes and ill get you a good site to get info on OCing on...

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
i got 300 Mhz OC with air but he's saying over 500 is possible, 200Mhz will probably be the limit with stock cooling

Alf

Yank Upstart
Reaction score
Me__2001 said:
i got 300 Mhz OC with air but he's saying over 500 is possible, 200Mhz will probably be the limit with stock cooling
ive been able to get a 300Mzh oc, the limiting factor was my mother board.. still dont know much about multipliers...

Reaction score
Me_2001 my system specs are:

Intel bord D8565PERL Chipset 865PE
Intel Pentium 4 2.60GHz
x2 CORSAIR ValueSelect 512MB 184-Pin PC 3200
x2 WD 120G HD
Lite-on DVD/CD burner
ATI 9600SE by GIGABYTE (saving for ATI 9800pro)

Reaction score
unknown said:
Me_2001 my system specs are:

Intel bord D8565PERL Chipset 865PE
Intel Pentium 4 2.60GHz
x2 CORSAIR ValueSelect 512MB 184-Pin PC 3200
x2 WD 120G HD
Lite-on DVD/CD burner