Hard Drive prices going crazy...

Reaction score
What is going on?

I am pricing systems up every so often for the time in a month or two I have enough moolah to build a new pooter to play BF3 on. And maybe, in about 10 years, HL3.

I found a thread a did on here back in March where I priced up a system with a standard Seagate Barracuda 1TB HD. It cost £37.99 on overclockers.

Now, that exact same drive is an incredible £62.99! Its not just overclockers, its the same everywhere.

On top of that, prices have actually increased in the last 6 months on most of the components I priced up back then, including the Asus P87 mobo, the 2500k processor and the Geforce 570.

What is going on? Should I be buying sooner rather than later, are prices going to keep going up?

Reaction score
Supply & Demand?
If your making the product you want to charge as much as you can!:(

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
FWIW I've been monitoring prices of games for PC & Xbox for several months and have noticed the greater majority have actually increased in price over a three month period.

I don't understand why but would have assumed in this recession hit time that suppliers would be cutting prices to the bone rather than raising them. Quite odd.

Hard drive prices will be influenced by how many are available and as Sony's UK warehouse holding hundreds of thousands of hard drives was burnt down recently - during the August riots I believe - that may have a bearing on their current pricing.

Conversely, DDR3 memory prices, I notice, have been falling.

Reaction score