Windows XP Date/Time qry

Reaction score
First this is my first try at posting a question so correct me if I'm not following the correct procedure.
I have qry in Access and one of the fld's is a date time fld and I dont want to see the time. I want to group on the date only and I cant figure out how to build the expression so the qry only returns the date without the time and groups the dates together?

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
i've done a bit of work with access

to get the date in a report i used

=Now()

and for the time

=Time()

any use to you ?

Reaction score
So in the design view of my qry are you saying that I build an expression or just use =Now() in the criteria?

By the way a tequila shot would probably be better than trying to do my analyst work!

Reaction score
most of the tlb's that we qry daily all have a date field that is formatted as date/time so when you pull in that fld in your qry you get somthing like 1/23/2006 8:41:01 AM. This displays every transaction to the tbl in seconds, minutes etc... We typically want to see the data rolled up or grouped by date and not the time.

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
what i would suggest is to use a field for the date and one for the time, i dont think you can qry just part of a field but i could be wrong as im no expert on this

Reaction score
I think I may have the answer... You create an expression DateValu([Date]) and this will return the date only and not the time... Thanks for you help..

Reaction score
A quicker solution would be to set the Format attribute; this can be applied to all the objects of Access. The table can hold date and time but queries, forms and reports can display as you choose; For example, the date 16th February 2006 can be displayed as follows: set the format to dd-mm-yy to get 16-02-06; set it to dd/mmm/yyyy to get 16/Feb/2006. Right click to get properties if you cannot see the option to set the Format attribute. Hope this helps.

Reaction score