Changin my PC case - any tips?

abz

Reaction score
Hi,

I bought a new case for my PC (nothing flash, just black with 2 front fans +LED's) and I have never transfered pc-guts into a new case before!

I have relatively decent knowledge of Pc hardware, and Im good with tools generally, so Im hoping I will jsut be able to work it out as I go along.

Seeing as Im a novice, does anyone have any tips or advice, as to what i definately should/shouldnt do?

I have been told to install the parts in this order:
PSU
Dvd+HD
MB
GPU
RAM
Wires

wish me luck!

thanks, abi

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Doesn't really matter what order you assemble parts in but it's probably wise to start with PSU and then mount the CPU/CPU Cooler/memory onto the motherboard before fitting that.

Make sure the jumpers/connections are correct on any optical drives and possibly hard drives.

Use the motherboard manual to identify the pins where the case switches and ports connect to.

Earth yourself against a good ground, such as a radiator pipe, before commencing.

Don't forget to connect the motherboard 12V supply and video card PSU connector where relevant.

Can't think of anything else off the top of me nut, except to say good luck :)

abz

Reaction score
hehe, thanks :) I just have to touch the radiator pipe every now and then right?

I think I will take photos of it first, so I can refer to them and put everythig where it started!

abi

Reefsmoka

Cookie Monster
Reaction score
Yeah, just touch something like a radiator, and u should be good.

Make sure you screw in the brass pins in the case where the motherboard sits before you put the motherboard in, else the motherboard will just short! I found out the hard way quite a while back :-/ . They go between your motherboard and case, so your motherboard when screwed down sits with about a 2/3mm gap between it and the case.

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score