Can you hook up a Virgin Media+ box to a PC monitor?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Reefsmoka, Jun 9, 2012.

  1. Reefsmoka

    Reefsmoka Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Is it possible to hook up a Virgin Media+ box to a PC monitor and also have the monitor plugged into the PC? I was thinking of hooking the Virgin Media+ box via hdmi and using dvi to the graphics card so I wouldn't have to keep connecting and disconnecting cables. Obviously I wouldn't be watching TV and using the PC at the same time, it would be one or the other. It sounds do-able, does anyone have any 1st hand experience of this or something similar.
     
    Reefsmoka, Jun 9, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Reefsmoka

    Silverhazesurfer Master of Logic

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    14
    My HannSpree monitors have the ability to switch from input to input (DVI, VGA, HDMI). It is just a manual switch for the input I choose. I do not know many monitors that don't allow a switch from each input unless they are really cheap.
     
    Silverhazesurfer, Jun 10, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Reefsmoka

    V_R ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Likes Received:
    611
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    As SHS said, its certainly doable, but depends on your setup. Worst case you could get some kind of HDMI Switcher box?
     
    V_R, Jun 10, 2012
    #3
  4. Reefsmoka

    Reefsmoka Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Eyeing up an Asus monitor, read some reviews and there meant to be great value for money.
     
    Reefsmoka, Jun 10, 2012
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. psd99

    Which DVD MEDIA Do You Use?

    psd99, Dec 8, 2004, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    39
    Views:
    2,614
    psd99
    Dec 11, 2004
  2. Quadophile
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    395
    Becky
    Oct 13, 2005
  3. mojouk
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,025
    muckshifter
    Mar 7, 2007
  4. murdoch

    I'm a Virgin

    murdoch, Apr 13, 2007, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    450
    murdoch
    Apr 13, 2007
  5. netrate
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,398
    netrate
    Aug 22, 2007
  6. psd99
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    801
    itsme
    Mar 15, 2008
  7. BourneSupreme

    surfing wireless with Virgin?

    BourneSupreme, Apr 27, 2008, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    521
    Frodo
    May 2, 2008
  8. BourneSupreme

    What router to buy for virgin broadband

    BourneSupreme, Dec 31, 2009, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    736
    TriplexDread
    Dec 31, 2009
Loading...