BT Minimum calls fee ... huh!

Discussion in 'Retailers' started by muckshifter, May 21, 2012.

  1. muckshifter

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,733
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    So, for the first time ever, I get conned by BT. OK, maybe not the first time, but this one takes the biscuit. :rolleyes:

    huh! pass that by me again will you. If I don't use the phone, I get charged extra. :confused: Listen pal, go take a running jump.

    I don't need, or even want, the phone anyway, however, con number one is, you "need" a BT landmine (sic) or they won't give you broadband. This applies to a few other broadband suppliers also. That one really baffles me.

    I have "spoken" to the nice Indian gentleman who agreed with me that this "charge" was a bit silly and assured me I will be credited on my next bill. I'm not going to hold my breath.

    I'm very limited in finding an alternative broadband supplier as there is NO cable in my street. I'll need to use the BT exchange which has been upgraded to the newish fast-ish ADSL24 ... so, once again, I'm on the hunt for an alternative.

    BT, kiss my ............


    :user:
     
    muckshifter, May 21, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. muckshifter

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,603
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    V_R, May 21, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. muckshifter

    crazylegs Member Extraordinaire VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,635
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Out There!
    Unbelievable! :eek:

    I haven't had a landline for over 10 years now as I have a mobile and it does the same thing, only without a wired tether..:D
    Have Virgin fibre optic Broadband so no need of a landline there either!

    Go tell em to take a hike Muck's
     
    crazylegs, May 21, 2012
    #3
  4. muckshifter

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,733
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    So does mine, it's a must have, or no BB ... why?

    My BB & calls costs me £13.25pm, unlimited, upto 24mb (I average 18mb) Line rental is £14.60

    That ADSL24 starts @ £12.90, I assume that very basic, so I had a look, I will probably be paying £26.90 for what I get from BT.


    I'm checking eBay. :)
     
    muckshifter, May 21, 2012
    #4
  5. muckshifter

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,733
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    Looking at costs, especially the small print hidden details "£6.99 wireless router delivery fee applies to all new subscriptions" I may be better off with a company called BT. :)

    Looks like the same V package is from £15.99 a month Plus a Virgin Phone line for £13.90 a month, not sure I can have one without the other?

    [edit]Ok, more info ... It'll cost £27.99pm with a BT line, will "need" a BT line, or, £15.99pm + £13.90pm (£29.98) for Vergin line, apparently I need that also. :sleep:

    :user:
     
    muckshifter, May 21, 2012
    #5
  6. muckshifter

    TriplexDread VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,648
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Where ever I want to be
    Problem is aswell Virgin will not/refuse/not allowed/ politics, use BT's installation. They install their own..

    Tried Talk Talk?
     
    TriplexDread, May 21, 2012
    #6
  7. muckshifter

    Taffycat Crunchie Cat VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,574
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    South Wales
    I know that you need a BT line to receive BT BB... but ADSL24's £12.90 charge is for (BT) line rental, (you don't actually have to get BB from them and, would only pay for calls if you make them.) So would it be possible to rent your BT line from them, whilst sticking with BT for BB...? After all, it's still a BT line, but with UK offices/support, etc.
     
    Taffycat, May 21, 2012
    #7
  8. muckshifter

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,733
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    ok, I need to clear up one point here ... I don't want BT telephone, I just want the Broadband, however, you cannot negotiate one without the other ... its a "con" charge. :)

    The same seems to go for ALL the others that are not cable, I loved cable, I can't get it here. :(

    I know that some, include the line rental, and, like Virgin, have their own "lines", but I still can't seem to find anything on par to BT, in cost ... despite the stupid, never had before, min call fee, of which, I'm not going to pay.

    I'm looking for unlimited Broadband, I don't need the phone, but if it comes as a free addition, what the heck, fine.

    I am seriously looking, and reading the very small print, some, including BT, hide a lot of the actual cost behind these "special" offers.

    I phoned, or tried to phone, for some clarification, Virgin, using their 0845 number, and, after numerous punching in numbers was told to phone another 0845 number, where I was then asked to press 1 on my Virgin phone ... huh! :wall: :rolleyes: the mind boggles.

    :confused:
     
    muckshifter, May 21, 2012
    #8
  9. muckshifter

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    http://www.broadband.co.uk/broadband-speed-test

    I guess you may have already found this site. After taking the test it gives a list of the cheapest deals around for your area.
    Quite a few ISP's will cut the line cost if you pay for a year up front, for instance mine will give me the line for £9.99 if I pay for the year.

    [​IMG]
     
    Abarbarian, May 21, 2012
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. itsme

    Mesh huh!!!!!

    itsme, May 2, 2007, in forum: Retailers
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,165
Loading...

Share This Page