Word Blank Word page opens before saved Doc

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I have a Dell Inspiron laptop running Win7, FF and Microsoft Essentials.

The problem I've been having for some months is that when I open a Word doc that I've saved it will open a blank page first. This isn't, I'm sure, serious, but it is darned annoying having to close two of them. I might add that this usually happens only when I first open a document after boot up. If I open a saved doc any time after it doesn't happen, well rarely anyway. At first I found that some of my docs had been saved (somehow) as Macro Enabled. I changed them all and the problem cleared but only temporarily. I've compared Word Options in both screens when they open and they all seem to be the same.

Now since I'm a writer and am frequently creating and saving Word docs I really would like to knock this on the head. I did find an old thread here and tried the remedy but without success. Can anyone help - pleeease?

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Reaction score
Not sure what's happened, feckit, but your link simply brings up this thread again. :confused:

Reaction score
Look for Normal.dotm in C:\Users\<UserName>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Templates and change the ".dotm" to ".old" and let me know if that fixes it for you.

Reaction score
I just opened a Word doc after trying your solution. Only my saved file opened up! However, I shall see what happens next time I boot up because I've been this far before. Thanks for the remedy though. I'll let you know how things progress.
I Found several files named Normal and one called Normal1. Do I need them all? No idea what they are.

Reaction score