Amd Xp Cpu

ACE

Reaction score
I RECENTLY PURCHASED AN AMD XP 2200 CPU.
ALSO I PURCHASED AN ASUS A7V333 MOTHERBOARD TO GO WITH IT. I AM CURRENTLY BUILDING A GAMEING SYSTEM AND WAS WONDERING IF I NEED TO HAVE A BIGGER POWER SOURCE THAN THE ONE THAT COMES WITH AN OLDER SYSTEM LIKE 1996. THIS IS MY FIRST TIME BUILDING A SYSTEM. I HOPE IT IS A GOOD ONE.

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
ow, no need to shout ... turn off you "Caps Lock"

... Yep, a 450/550watt will do nicely. Don’t be tempted with a cheapo. ;)

Reaction score
If the power supply is from 1996, for sure you'll need a new one. It can't be much more than a 200w. You'll need at the bare minimum 300w for what you're talking about.

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Antec Truepower; Sparkle & Enermax are all good and trusted makes with healthy current supplies for each rail.

my ears, my ears.... :crazy: :D

ACE

Reaction score
Hey floppy,
Sorry about yer ears. To much Rock N' Roll can make a deaf person hear. I'll tone it down a bit. Thanks for the info.

ACE

Reaction score
Floppy,
I tried to buy an Abit KR7A raid but it was discontinued. Whats up with that?

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
ACE:

Very good article on PSU's Here

Based on their findings and general availability, I'd go for the Antec 380 Truepower.

Yes, I do believe the KR7A is no longer produced by Abit. You can get the KD-7 RAID for a hundred quid, it's a much better board with onboard sound, USB2.0 and some other good stuff.

Here's a link: KD7 (3rd & 4th on the list).

Or you can get the non-RAID version for £87.00.

wildone

King of Modding
Reaction score
Just out of curiosity,does it have the Tbred core?Or do you have the steppings of the chip,if so please post them.

wildone:roll:

ACE

Reaction score
WILDONE,
I am new at this computer stuff and really dont understand
what you exactly are asking. It is an AMD ATHLON xp 2200+