AMD CPU choice ??

Discussion in 'General' started by Abarbarian, Oct 18, 2008.

  1. Abarbarian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    So I'm building a pc for free for me mates child. It will be a AMD set up.

    I have a ASUS AM 2 mobo and a ATHALON 64 X2 4800 cpu.

    I need a cpu so do I,

    1) keep what I have and get a dirt cheap 4400 at £32

    All other options give the 4800 to the new build.

    2) get a 4850E 2.5 Ghz 1MB L2 45W, low power and £42

    3) get a 5400 Black 2.8 Ghz 1 MB L2 65W, low power £60

    4) get a 5600 2.8 GHz 2 MB L2 89W, more power £60

    5) get a 6000 3.0 Ghz 2MB L2 125W, mega power £60

    6) get a Phenom 9550 2.2 Ghz 95W more power £100

    7) get a Phenom 9750 2.4 Ghz 95W more power £113

    7) get a Phenom 9850 2.5 Ghz 125W mega power £125

    I realise that the Phenoms will not use all the L3 cache as they are AM 2 + but they will give better performance in some applications that I use. They can also be used if I ever upgrade my mobo.

    All of the cpus above can be clocked for better gaming. The lowly 4850E can get to 3 Ghz so somwhere around 2.8 Ghz should be ok for it to run at when gaming.

    So is it worth spending on the Phenoms because of the upgrade path, getting a AM 2+ mobo later would give quite a decent rig and they should be compatible with AM 3.

    Do I get the lowly 4850E and clock it for gaming. Cheapest option.Lowest power use.

    The 5400 has low power use but low L2 cache while the 5600 uses more power but has more L2 cache.

    The 6000 sucks up power but is pretty darn fast.

    The lower power Phenoms with a tiny tweak will give decent gaming and can be tweaked to around 2.8 Ghz but will run hot.

    All the cpus will run on my mobo I have read so many reviews and tests etc that I simply can not make up me mind.

    An for the wise guys , yes I should have gone to Intel in the first place.

    :confused:
     
    Abarbarian, Oct 18, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Abarbarian

    Waynos_Face New Cruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Either the 2.6Ghz or the 2.8Ghz that has the 2mb of cache and is low power would be my vote.
     
    Waynos_Face, Oct 18, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Abarbarian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    So you recon option 3 or 4 then, I'm still a bit confused as to how much difference that extra L2 cache is worth to performance.

    [​IMG]
     
    Abarbarian, Oct 18, 2008
    #3
  4. Abarbarian

    Waynos_Face New Cruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Well its double, thats what i would go for, 2.6 is prob best for money/performance.
     
    Waynos_Face, Oct 18, 2008
    #4
  5. Abarbarian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    I figured out that it was double. Just could not find a review that gave results for a L2 x 2MB and a L2 x 1 MB on the same Ghz rated cpu so I could see what REAL difference it made.

    I was thinking option 4) as I'm not quite clear as to if the Phenoms will be worth the extra on my present mobo.

    Ta fer yer input.

    :)
     
    Abarbarian, Oct 18, 2008
    #5
  6. Abarbarian

    itsme VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    No problem with this one I use on 2PCs fast! Very fast:nod: Low power you wont even notice L2 cache..... Crunch Crunch....:wave:
     
    itsme, Oct 18, 2008
    #6
  7. Abarbarian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    Are you saying that the L2 cache is not important ?

    Dabs have the lower L2 cache in the 65W version for £58.


    1 MB Multi-Core Cache Configuration2 x 512 KB TypeL2 Cache Miscellaneous

    Included Processor AccessoriesCooler (fansink) Processor

    64-bit ComputingYes Clock Speed2.9 GHz Compatible Processor SocketSocket AM2 Core Voltage1.325 V/1.35 V/1.375 V FeaturesAMD64 technologyEnhanced Virus ProtectionHyperTransport technologyIntegrated memory controller ManufacturerAMD Manufacturing Process65 nm Multi-Core TechnologyDual-Core Power EfficiencyEnergy Efficient Processor Number5600+ Thermal Design Power65 WMe brains reeling with all the info I have looked at.

    :confused:
     
    Abarbarian, Oct 18, 2008
    #7
  8. Abarbarian

    itsme VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Not to me but then again I ain`t a games-master It is a matter of 15% between L2 AND L4:) Like I say I doubt you would notice the difference as for speed how fast you want to go>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>:D
     
    itsme, Oct 18, 2008
    #8
  9. Abarbarian

    Abarbarian Acruncher VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    A cabin in the woods by a river
    http://www.aria.co.uk/SuperSpecials...2+Dual-Core+5600++2.9GHz+oem+?productId=33834

    Well I finally went for the 5600 2 x 512 L2 65W Brisbane. I know it wont be as fast as a Windsor but it should be better than me 4800. I just could not make me mind up what with new cpus around the corner etc. So I decided that I could play at overclocking with me present system and that I would get pretty good gaming as I am not playing the very latest games.

    Yeah I know I should have gone to Specsavers [​IMG]
     
    Abarbarian, Oct 26, 2008
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. kristel

    Amd Cpu Fsb

    kristel, Jun 19, 2002, in forum: General
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    2,020
    Eric Portelance
    Jun 30, 2002
  2. ACE

    Amd Xp Cpu

    ACE, Oct 27, 2002, in forum: General
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    3,467
    TriplexDread
    Jan 4, 2003
  3. SpeedTouch
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    942
    SpeedTouch
    Jul 14, 2004
  4. SpeedTouch
    Replies:
    37
    Views:
    5,573
    SpeedTouch
    Nov 10, 2004
  5. V_R

    What AMD cpu?

    V_R, Feb 7, 2005, in forum: General
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    1,693
    floppybootstomp
    Mar 1, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page