Add VPN role to main server in a small network?

Reaction score
Can a company with a very small network (8 connected computers) have the only server also act as a VPN server?

I'm a programmer, but not a networking expert. My company has a small network, with Windows Server 2003 hosting some shared files. This server is connected to the main Ethernet switch, as are all of the client computers. The Internet router is also connected to this Ethernet switch.

All computers can see each other (where security allows it) and can see the shared files on the server, and all computers can get to the Internet.

Can I add the VPN role to the server?

I get confused by statements like this in the VPN documentation: "[Ensure that] this computer has two network interfaces, one that connects to the Internet and one that connects to the private network." http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc736357(v=ws.10)

I could easily add a second Ehternet card to the server, but wouldn't both of them need to connect to the Ethernet switch? That's where the Internet connection is found -- through the Ethernet switch -- and it's also where the private network is found.

Other descriptions of VPN say much the same thing -- there's apparently "an interface" that connects to the Internet, where the VPN connections are going to come from, and a different interface that connects to the private network. Since I would think that all network interface cards should be cabled to the Ethernet switch, this confuses me. I don't want to radically redesign my network if I don't have to. I understand different subnets, if that helps.

In my case, all of the "resources" that the users connecting through the VPN to this server will need, are found on the server, not inside the private network. But the private network computers still need access to the server as presently configured.

If anyone can clarify the issue about the two network interfaces, that would be great. Thanks.

Silverhazesurfer