A newbie enters the Forum and bows low......

Reaction score
Hey all.

Just about to get a new PC built for gaming and I want info on graphics cards. Does anyone think that (for now) the 7800 GTX 256Mb is probably the best lager in the world?

What about the new Radeon X800 XL 512Mb - any good? Its cheaper than the above too.

Currently running a Radeon 9800 Pro in my other machine which is pretty hot too. All advice welcome.

Ta.

Arnie

Last edited:

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
currently the 7800GTX in SLI is the best but it think the X1800XT gives the best single card performance, the X800XL is the best card for its price and can handle pretty much any game you throw at it, the 9800Pro should be able to do the same but at a lower resolution and without AA and AF

what motherboard are you planning on using ?

Reaction score
Apologies - I'm already floundering. What's AA and AF and what motherboard would you recommend? I'm not too technical I'm afraid. I use a Mac most of the time or praps I shouldn't admit to that!

Ta.

CITech

Offshore Crunchie Eater
Reaction score
Arnold Rimmer said:
Hey all.

Just about to get a new PC built for gaming and I want info on graphics cards. Does anyone think that (for now) the 7800 GTX 256Mb is probably the best lager in the world?

What about the new Radeon X800 XL 512Mb - any good? Its cheaper than the above too.

Currently running a Radeon 9800 Pro in my other machine which is pretty hot too. All advice welcome.

Ta.

Arnie
Arnie, the 7800 can be described as "le nads de chien" to put it mildly. (I will leave you to work out the translation);)

The run sweet as a nut in SLI configuration, and also multiple monitor setup as I have (See below). Not sure what the single card confiuration is like, so I bow, meekly, to Me_2001's earlier comment.

ps. Kryten sends his regards!:D

Reaction score