PC Review
Forums
Newsgroups
Hardware
Anti-Virus
Email virus question
Forums
Newsgroups
Hardware
Anti-Virus
Email virus question
![]() |
Email virus question |
|
|
Thread Tools | Rate Thread |
|
|
#1 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
I just received a fraudulent email, supposedly from 'Hallmark.com', inviting
me to view an e-card which contained the Win32:Zapchast-CR Trojan virus - fortunately Avast detected it. I'm just wondering - how do these morons obtain email addresses in the first place? Have they hacked into Hallmark's database? I never use my real address in newsgroups, nor when signing up for anything, I use a Yahoo account in those cases. Thanks very much for any replies. Craig |
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Craig Fox wrote:
> I just received a fraudulent email, supposedly from 'Hallmark.com', > inviting me to view an e-card which contained the Win32:Zapchast-CR > Trojan virus - fortunately Avast detected it. Yes, fortunately. And you hope the trojan wasn't actually installed. Begs the question, do you click on every link someone or something sends you? :-) > I'm just wondering - how do these morons obtain email addresses in > the first place? Have they hacked into Hallmark's database? How do they obtain *your* address? Same as all the rest of the spammers. They harvest it from .. a website guestbook you posted to; they make it up; one of your friends has it in their address book and contracted a worm which read the address book. The sources are endless. And no, they didn't get it from "hallmark." > I never use my real address in newsgroups, nor when signing up for > anything, I use a Yahoo account in those cases. See above about friends with worms and viruses. I do notice you are using the munge of "here.com" which is apparently owned by a Michael Grossman of Herndon, Virginia. You are doing him a disservice by using his domain (causing spam to be sent to it). Use "example.com" or "example.invalid" which will prevent spam being sent to a real person. -- -bts -Motorcycles defy gravity; cars just suck |
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
On Tue, 4 Dec 2007 23:31:24 -0000, "Craig Fox" <Blue@here.com> wrote:
>I just received a fraudulent email, supposedly from 'Hallmark.com', inviting >me to view an e-card which contained the Win32:Zapchast-CR Trojan virus - >fortunately Avast detected it. > Detected or not you wouldn't have opened it. Would you? >I'm just wondering - how do these morons obtain email addresses in the first >place? Have they hacked into Hallmark's database? > Why would they need to hack a database? They can use any addresses they want. >I never use my real address in newsgroups, nor when signing up for anything, >I use a Yahoo account in those cases. > I've used a real address on newsgroups for nearly 15 years. It's never caused any problems. Steve -- Neural Planner Software Ltd http://www.easynn.com http://www.tropheus.demon.co.uk |
|
![]() |
|
| Thread Tools | |
| Rate This Thread | |
|
|

Main Page 

