PC Review Forums Newsgroups Microsoft Word Microsoft Frontpage Blocking Message Board Posts

Reply

Blocking Message Board Posts

 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 17-08-2005, 11:43 PM   #1
Gordon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Blocking Message Board Posts


Is there any way to block certain persons or organizations from
posting on my web site bulletin board. I have been getting a lot
of posts from someone named niuyue from the remote name
220.191.44.200. These messages seem to be of Chinese origin, and
are in some html format that won't display on my website. I would
like to block this sender if there is any way to do so.

If anyone would like, take a look at the TOC page at this link;
http://www.okc-shhh.org/disc1_tocf.htm

Thanks for any suggestions. Gordon
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2005, 12:52 AM   #2
Tom Pepper Willett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Blocking Message Board Posts

No.

You could ask your host to block IP address in the server, but if they have
dynamic IPs, they will constantly change.
--
===
Tom "Pepper" Willett
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
---
About FrontPage 2003:
http://office.microsoft.com/home/of...etid=FX01085802
How to ask a newsgroup question:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
===
"Gordon" <gordonlr@DELETEswbell.net> wrote in message
news:rhi7g19go7ia6la2hspbup1amef7qkdqk1@4ax.com...
| Is there any way to block certain persons or organizations from
| posting on my web site bulletin board. I have been getting a lot
| of posts from someone named niuyue from the remote name
| 220.191.44.200. These messages seem to be of Chinese origin, and
| are in some html format that won't display on my website. I would
| like to block this sender if there is any way to do so.
|
| If anyone would like, take a look at the TOC page at this link;
| http://www.okc-shhh.org/disc1_tocf.htm
|
| Thanks for any suggestions. Gordon


  Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2005, 03:35 PM   #3
Thomas A. Rowe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Blocking Message Board Posts

You would have to use a FTP application to upload, not FP.

You can not add this or any other script to the FP discussion web to block IP addresses.

--
==============================================
Thomas A. Rowe (Microsoft MVP - FrontPage)
==============================================
If you feel your current issue is a results of installing
a Service Pack or security update, please contact
Microsoft Product Support Services:
http://support.microsoft.com
If the problem can be shown to have been caused by a
security update, then there is usually no charge for the call.
==============================================

"Gordon" <gordonlr@DELETEswbell.net> wrote in message
news:5l2pg155tt009tta7vut02hac8qjoo4985@4ax.com...
> On Wed, 17 Aug 2005 19:52:25 -0500, "Tom Pepper Willett"
> <tompepper@mvps.invalid> Eingereicht:
>
>>No.
>>
>>You could ask your host to block IP address in the server, but if they have
>>dynamic IPs, they will constantly change.
>>

> Tom, thanks for your response. I have checked with my host
> (SWBell) and they offered no assistance from their end. They did
> suggest that I might FTP a text file to my site's root with the
> following lines. The suggested text file has to have the name,
> .htaccess but I can't get this name to be accepted by my server.
>
> <Limit GET>
> order allow,deny
> deny from 123.45.67
> deny from 207.157.255.213
> allow from all
> </Limit>
>
> The IP address numbers are not for the specific sites I need to
> block, but simply illustrate the format. The first IP address
> line with the number 123.45.67 does not include the last cluster
> of digits, but would be open to anything that comes along from
> that server.
>
> I can't get this file to upload to my server, using my MS Front
> Page. I haven't fitured out, yet, how to FTP it to my site.
>
> I'm wondering if I could use MS Front Page to edit one of my
> bulletin board pages and include the above script. Is there any
> way to so this, or something similar?
>
> If I keyed the above script into my existing Bulletin Board Post
> page, would this stop anyone from posting from the listed IP
> addresses?
>
> Thanks for any steering signals you can send me. I'm completely
> adrift on this problem. Gordon



  Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off