PC Review
Forums
Newsgroups
Hardware
Anti-Virus
Virus laden site
Forums
Newsgroups
Hardware
Anti-Virus
Virus laden site
![]() |
Virus laden site |
|
|
Thread Tools | Rate Thread |
|
|
#1 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
The BBC has an article relating to alcohol "binge drinking" on it's site at http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/4003229.stm This site links to http://www.drinkaware.co.uk/ The latter seems to redirect to www.sp2****ed.biz which is laden with viruses. One to avoid if you have IE as it doesn't seem to affect Firefox |
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
In article <MPG.1bfe7fe539a3678b989cc6@news.individual.net>,
tx2newscollection@hotmail.com, a.k.a Tx2 says... > > > The BBC has an article relating to alcohol "binge drinking" on it's site > at http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/4003229.stm > > This site links to http://www.drinkaware.co.uk/ > > The latter seems to redirect to www.sp2****ed.biz which is laden with > viruses. > > One to avoid if you have IE as it doesn't seem to affect Firefox Scrub that, it hits Firefox as well. |
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Tx2 wrote:
> In article <MPG.1bfe7fe539a3678b989cc6@news.individual.net>, > tx2newscollection@hotmail.com, a.k.a Tx2 says... > >> >>The BBC has an article relating to alcohol "binge drinking" on it's site >>at http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/4003229.stm >> >>This site links to http://www.drinkaware.co.uk/ >> >>The latter seems to redirect to www.sp2****ed.biz which is laden with >>viruses. >> >>One to avoid if you have IE as it doesn't seem to affect Firefox > > > > Scrub that, it hits Firefox as well. How? Because of Lava scripting being enabled? Or is there some Windows vulnerability that Firefox can't avoid? |
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Tx2 wrote:
> In article <MPG.1bfe7fe539a3678b989cc6@news.individual.net>, > tx2newscollection@hotmail.com, a.k.a Tx2 says... > >> >>The BBC has an article relating to alcohol "binge drinking" on it's site >>at http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/4003229.stm >> >>This site links to http://www.drinkaware.co.uk/ >> >>The latter seems to redirect to www.sp2****ed.biz which is laden with >>viruses. >> >>One to avoid if you have IE as it doesn't seem to affect Firefox > > > > Scrub that, it hits Firefox as well. "Hits"? I just got a download file prompt which I cancelled. aD |
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
In article <4194bbc0$0$234$5a6aecb4@news.aaisp.net.uk>,
aD@simplypeachy.invalid, a.k.a aD says... > Tx2 wrote: > > In article <MPG.1bfe7fe539a3678b989cc6@news.individual.net>, > > tx2newscollection@hotmail.com, a.k.a Tx2 says... > > > >> > >>The BBC has an article relating to alcohol "binge drinking" on it's site > >>at http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/4003229.stm > >> > >>This site links to http://www.drinkaware.co.uk/ > >> > >>The latter seems to redirect to www.sp2****ed.biz which is laden with > >>viruses. > >> > >>One to avoid if you have IE as it doesn't seem to affect Firefox > > > > > > > > Scrub that, it hits Firefox as well. > > "Hits"? I just got a download file prompt which I cancelled. Oh FFS ... if you are going to pick ****ing holes, then i won't bother posting warnings .... *******s to you. |
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
In article <zz2ld.88946$R05.38477@attbi_s53>, optikl@invalid.net, a.k.a
optikl says... > How? Because of Lava scripting being enabled? Or is there some Windows > vulnerability that Firefox can't avoid? I don't know, but simply loading (or attempting to load) the page in Firefox resulted in my NOD32 springing into action ... I know not, nor want to, the inner workings, except to say the said URL is (was?) a virus source. |
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Tx2 wrote:
> In article <zz2ld.88946$R05.38477@attbi_s53>, optikl@invalid.net, a.k.a > optikl says... > > > >>How? Because of Lava scripting being enabled? Or is there some Windows >>vulnerability that Firefox can't avoid? > > > I don't know, but simply loading (or attempting to load) the page in > Firefox resulted in my NOD32 springing into action ... > > I know not, nor want to, the inner workings, except to say the said URL > is (was?) a virus source. Ah, maybe NOD32 is smart enough to notice that Firefox went to fetch the URL and not necessarily download it. aD |
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
I didn't see a problem and I don't read Cyrillic.
Dave :-( "Tx2" <tx2newscollection@hotmail.com> wrote in message news:MPG.1bfe7fe539a3678b989cc6@news.individual.net... | | | The BBC has an article relating to alcohol "binge drinking" on it's site | at http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/4003229.stm | | This site links to http://www.drinkaware.co.uk/ | | The latter seems to redirect to www.sp2****ed.biz which is laden with | viruses. | | One to avoid if you have IE as it doesn't seem to affect Firefox |
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
"optikl" <optikl@invalid.net> wrote in message news:zz2ld.88946$R05.38477@attbi_s53... > Tx2 wrote: >> In article <MPG.1bfe7fe539a3678b989cc6@news.individual.net>, >> tx2newscollection@hotmail.com, a.k.a Tx2 says... >> >>> >>>The BBC has an article relating to alcohol "binge drinking" on it's site >>>at http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/4003229.stm >>> >>>This site links to http://www.drinkaware.co.uk/ >>> >>>The latter seems to redirect to www.sp2****ed.biz which is laden with >>>viruses. >>> >>>One to avoid if you have IE as it doesn't seem to affect Firefox >> >> >> >> Scrub that, it hits Firefox as well. > > How? Because of Lava scripting being enabled? Or is there some Windows > vulnerability that Firefox can't avoid? ------------------------------------------------------------------- I have visited www.sp2****ed.biz using XP Corp SP2 and IE6 with Popupcop, F-Secure Antivirus Client Security 5.54 and Webroot Spy Sweeper 3.2.147 all running in an attempt to identify the viruses from this site. Whatever I click on the site, I cannot get a virus or spyware warning. Are you sure this site is laden with viruses??? Please identify the viruses for me if you can. Thanks. |
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
In Message-ID:<MPG.1bfecd8b42f02ba0989ccf@news.individual.net> posted on
Fri, 12 Nov 2004 13:40:01 -0000, Tx2 wrote: Begin >I know not, nor want to, the inner workings, except to say the said URL >is (was?) a virus source. Now that's a prime example of the kind of arrant fool that inspires malware authors. <g> BTW: the site by itself does NOTHING! Just a come on to get you to install a spyware toolbar and seems to have a phishing component as well. -- Bart |
|
![]() |
|
| Thread Tools | |
| Rate This Thread | |
|
|

Main Page 

