PC Review Forums Newsgroups Microsoft AntiSpyware Spyware Announcements Misreported!

Reply

Misreported!

 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 07-01-2005, 02:48 PM   #1
Peter Chan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Misreported!


after Microsoft antispyware scans my pc, it
detects "CoolWebSearch" in
c:/windows/system32/tapicfg.exe. i found that file
searched in google is related to windows file and adware.
but i am sure that file is windows component. i think it
just detect files as spyware just by file name, not
signatures(hash).
And the program detects all files related to flashget
program as adware. gif, wav are adware????

finally, it also detects
HKEY_CURRECT_USER\Software\Microsoft\windows\currentversion
\internet settings\zonemap\domains\searchsquire.com as
adware. but i know the location of registry is the
restricted zone in IE. this setting helps me prevent
harmful action from applying to my pc.

i hope developer can correct it and detect more
accurately.
this software is quite powerful, especially "Advanced
Tools". thanks microsoft.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 10:37 AM   #2
Gary
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Misreported!

I did a Google search for tapicfg.exe and the first page is full of reports stating the tapicfg.exe is a parasite variant of coolwebsearch.
"Peter Chan" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:14c701c4f4c8$01eb4950$a601280a@phx.gbl...
after Microsoft antispyware scans my pc, it
detects "CoolWebSearch" in
c:/windows/system32/tapicfg.exe. i found that file
searched in google is related to windows file and adware.
but i am sure that file is windows component. i think it
just detect files as spyware just by file name, not
signatures(hash).
And the program detects all files related to flashget
program as adware. gif, wav are adware????

finally, it also detects
HKEY_CURRECT_USER\Software\Microsoft\windows\currentversion
\internet settings\zonemap\domains\searchsquire.com as
adware. but i know the location of registry is the
restricted zone in IE. this setting helps me prevent
harmful action from applying to my pc.

i hope developer can correct it and detect more
accurately.
this software is quite powerful, especially "Advanced
Tools". thanks microsoft.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 10:02 PM   #3
Frank Saunders, MS-MVP IE/OE
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Misreported!

"Peter Chan" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:14c701c4f4c8$01eb4950$a601280a@phx.gbl
> after Microsoft antispyware scans my pc, it
> detects "CoolWebSearch" in
> c:/windows/system32/tapicfg.exe. i found that file
> searched in google is related to windows file and adware.
> but i am sure that file is windows component. i think it
> just detect files as spyware just by file name, not
> signatures(hash).
> And the program detects all files related to flashget
> program as adware. gif, wav are adware????
>
> finally, it also detects
> HKEY_CURRECT_USER\Software\Microsoft\windows\currentversion
> \internet settings\zonemap\domains\searchsquire.com as
> adware. but i know the location of registry is the
> restricted zone in IE. this setting helps me prevent
> harmful action from applying to my pc.
>
> i hope developer can correct it and detect more
> accurately.
> this software is quite powerful, especially "Advanced
> Tools". thanks microsoft.


I do not have such a file in WinXP SP2.

--
Frank Saunders, MS-MVP, IE/OE
Please respond in Newsgroup only. Do not send email
http://www.fjsmjs.com
Protect your PC
http://www.microsoft.com./athome/se...ct/default.aspx


  Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 12:41 AM   #4
Bill Sanderson
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Misreported!

Peter--this one is a false positive for a setting made by other anti-spyware
products--probably Spybot Search & Destroy.

It's been mentioned many times in other groups--I'm sure Microsoft is aware
of it.

Thanks for helping make the product better.

"Peter Chan" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:14c701c4f4c8$01eb4950$a601280a@phx.gbl...
> after Microsoft antispyware scans my pc, it
> detects "CoolWebSearch" in
> c:/windows/system32/tapicfg.exe. i found that file
> searched in google is related to windows file and adware.
> but i am sure that file is windows component. i think it
> just detect files as spyware just by file name, not
> signatures(hash).
> And the program detects all files related to flashget
> program as adware. gif, wav are adware????
>
> finally, it also detects
> HKEY_CURRECT_USER\Software\Microsoft\windows\currentversion
> \internet settings\zonemap\domains\searchsquire.com as
> adware. but i know the location of registry is the
> restricted zone in IE. this setting helps me prevent
> harmful action from applying to my pc.
>
> i hope developer can correct it and detect more
> accurately.
> this software is quite powerful, especially "Advanced
> Tools". thanks microsoft.



  Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off