PC Review Forums Newsgroups Microsoft AntiSpyware Spyware Application Compatibility Compatibility with Norton

Reply

Compatibility with Norton

 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-03-2005, 01:13 AM   #1
Nancy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Compatibility with Norton


When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
through Norton about malicious script detected
Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the antivirus
software?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 02:32 AM   #2
Bill Sanderson
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Compatibility with Norton

I'm not sure what this is. I don't believe it is from Norton Antivirus, and
I know that it is not from Microsoft Antispyware. However, I don't know
that it is malicious. A number of software vendors use BackWeb as a support
mechanism--I believe they include Logitech, HP, and F-secure, among others.
I did find some google discussion of this particular executable, but none in
languages that I read well enough to find the hits helpful.

--
FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm

"Nancy" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$a501280a@phx.gbl...
> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
> through Norton about malicious script detected
> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the antivirus
> software?



  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 05:07 AM   #3
Ron Chamberlin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Compatibility with Norton

Hi Nancy,
Not sure if you meant backweb perhaps rather than blackweb? If it's
backweb, I'll agree with Bill's advice.

Ron Chamberlin
MS-MVP

"Nancy" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$a501280a@phx.gbl...
> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
> through Norton about malicious script detected
> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the antivirus
> software?
>




  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 12:19 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Compatibility with Norton


>-----Original Message-----
>I'm not sure what this is. I don't believe it is from

Norton Antivirus, and
>I know that it is not from Microsoft Antispyware.

However, I don't know
>that it is malicious. A number of software vendors use

BackWeb as a support
>mechanism--I believe they include Logitech, HP, and F-

secure, among others.
>I did find some google discussion of this particular

executable, but none in
>languages that I read well enough to find the hits

helpful.
>
>--
>FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
>http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm
>
>"Nancy" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in

message
>news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$a501280a@phx.gbl...
>> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
>> through Norton about malicious script detected
>> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the

antivirus
>> software?

>
>
>.
>

  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 12:22 PM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Compatibility with Norton

I've also BACKWEB on my PC from Packard Bell. PB uses it
for information-channels conderning Packard Bell products.
It is beeing used as extra software to enhance surfing. In
this case it's a legal use of backwebsoftware and Norton
alerts the user when this software becoms active! Jan vdn
Eeden - The Netherlands -
>-----Original Message-----
>I'm not sure what this is. I don't believe it is from

Norton Antivirus, and
>I know that it is not from Microsoft Antispyware.

However, I don't know
>that it is malicious. A number of software vendors use

BackWeb as a support
>mechanism--I believe they include Logitech, HP, and F-

secure, among others.
>I did find some google discussion of this particular

executable, but none in
>languages that I read well enough to find the hits

helpful.
>
>--
>FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
>http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm
>
>"Nancy" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in

message
>news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$a501280a@phx.gbl...
>> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
>> through Norton about malicious script detected
>> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the

antivirus
>> software?

>
>
>.
>

  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 12:22 PM   #6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Compatibility with Norton

I've also BACKWEB on my PC from Packard Bell. PB uses it
for information-channels conderning Packard Bell products.
It is beeing used as extra software to enhance surfing. In
this case it's a legal use of backwebsoftware and Norton
alerts the user when this software becoms active! Jan vdn
Eeden - The Netherlands -
>-----Original Message-----
>I'm not sure what this is. I don't believe it is from

Norton Antivirus, and
>I know that it is not from Microsoft Antispyware.

However, I don't know
>that it is malicious. A number of software vendors use

BackWeb as a support
>mechanism--I believe they include Logitech, HP, and F-

secure, among others.
>I did find some google discussion of this particular

executable, but none in
>languages that I read well enough to find the hits

helpful.
>
>--
>FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
>http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm
>
>"Nancy" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in

message
>news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$a501280a@phx.gbl...
>> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
>> through Norton about malicious script detected
>> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the

antivirus
>> software?

>
>
>.
>

  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 01:34 PM   #7
Bill Sanderson
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Compatibility with Norton

Thanks!
--
FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm

<anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:5cbc01c52634$fb2b7010$a501280a@phx.gbl...
> I've also BACKWEB on my PC from Packard Bell. PB uses it
> for information-channels conderning Packard Bell products.
> It is beeing used as extra software to enhance surfing. In
> this case it's a legal use of backwebsoftware and Norton
> alerts the user when this software becoms active! Jan vdn
> Eeden - The Netherlands -
>>-----Original Message-----
>>I'm not sure what this is. I don't believe it is from

> Norton Antivirus, and
>>I know that it is not from Microsoft Antispyware.

> However, I don't know
>>that it is malicious. A number of software vendors use

> BackWeb as a support
>>mechanism--I believe they include Logitech, HP, and F-

> secure, among others.
>>I did find some google discussion of this particular

> executable, but none in
>>languages that I read well enough to find the hits

> helpful.
>>
>>--
>>FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
>>http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm
>>
>>"Nancy" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in

> message
>>news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$a501280a@phx.gbl...
>>> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
>>> through Norton about malicious script detected
>>> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the

> antivirus
>>> software?

>>
>>
>>.
>>



  Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off